What Broke Me Today: Why Language is Important when Navigating Inequity

How one Instagram post highlights the power language has in perpetuating and reinforcing colonial power dynamics.

Manpreet Kaur Kalra
JUST FASHION

--

An instagram post from @yelloco.co

I am tired. Over the past year, I have dedicated myself to addressing systemic power structures by challenging businesses to practice cultural humility. Every now and then, I read something and it breaks me down. I often tell people context and intent matter. A photo alone may be benign, but its intent lies in its context. When I saw this post by Yellow Co in my Instagram feed, I felt this profound compulsion to go out on my balcony and scream. I regularly navigate through my professional relationships having uncomfortable conversations about race and power dynamics, but this post made me crack.

Addressing Power Dynamics Through Language

On the surface, this post feels like a poor attempt at being inclusive, making certain people feel like they are doing good and making a difference. But, under this thin shell, it reinforces exclusion by perpetuating an othering tone in its language.

When I lead workshops on crafting inclusive brand narratives, I tell attendees to take a moment to reflect on whatever they are posting by asking…

--

--

Manpreet Kaur Kalra
JUST FASHION

Manpreet is a brand marketer, social activist, & writer. She explores the intersection of digital media, social entrepreneurship & diversity in sustainability.