Zac Brown Band in Monticello, Iowa

Claire R
Just Scrubbing Along
3 min readAug 8, 2021
Photo by Katherine Hanlon on Unsplash

Recently, my family (my parents, twin brother, Blake, my boyfriend and I) ventured into the great state of Iowa for a country concert. This took place at the Great Jones County Fair on Saturday the 24th. It was a great time and allowed me to take a good drive through my college town that I had departed from following my graduation ceremony in mid-May.

As I said before, my family and I enjoyed our little weekend getaway, and I took full advantage of getting everything I could out of this trip. This has to have been my favorite family road trip we have taken thus far in my lifetime, let alone my favorite road trip that I have taken with my boyfriend, Nick, this summer (This was our 4th road trip together! *gasp*). It was great to be able to show him a little more of the state I had spent a greater part of the last four years in, especially around Decorah (Go Norse!).

Regardless, the main highlight of the trip was the Zac Brown Band concert we attended at the county fair in Monticello, Iowa. This band has always been one of my favorites to listen to since I was younger and accidentally introduced the rest of my family to country music, so my attendance of this concert certainly crossed an item off my Bucket List. I think I stunned my whole family when I burst out with most of the lyrics of some songs they hardly knew! :)

My boyfriend and I enjoying some brewskis before the concert started!

The following morning, my parents had looked into some routes that we could take home and found out we were only 20 (give or take a few) miles from the Field of Dreams Movie site. So, after we checked out of our hotel rooms, and drove on over to Dyersville in order to walk around and check out the site. This was something my brother had always wanted to see since our family watched the movie when Blake and I were younger. And I’ll admit, I thought it was pretty cool too! :)

My boyfriend and I.
My family and I in front of the Field of Dreams House!

Then, of course, since we were taking our homeward-bound trip up north on Highway 52, Nick and I stopped in Decorah, during their large Nordic Fest, and got some brewskis at Toppling Goliath Brewery, and re-filled some growlers that my Dad found sitting and collecting dust in the basement. So, all in all, this trip down to Iowa was perfectly productive.

It was a great trip with my family, and we are certainly looking forward to finding out who is performing at the Great Jones County Fair next year.

Originally published on https://www.justscrubbingaround.blogspot.com on July 27th, 2021.

--

--

Claire R
Just Scrubbing Along

Mental Health Advocate, Nursing Graduate Student, just hoping to share my life and experiences with people :)