EDITORIAL

If I Write It, Will My Grandkids Read It?

Probably not

Lee J. Bentch
Just Thoughts
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

A book
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I will not paraphrase Bob Dylan’s song The Times They Are a Changin; that concept has lingered for decades. It’s a great song, by the way.

But times have changed and continue to shift and morph. We are not the same society we were in the ’60s, ’70s, and ’80s, even the ‘90s.

If we are not the same, you should be asking, what are we now?

The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind.

Okay, I am going to stop with the Bob Dylan lyrics. Most of his songs are very prolific, carrying deep meaning for over sixty years. But while life can be summarized in a song, reality takes precedence.

I have a gaggle of grandkids that live with me. There’s a story behind that, but I’ll spare you the excitement. The actual number of kids in my house today is six. Next week, that drops to five, as one is leaving and following a dream of moving to Wyoming.

Over the years, I’ve noticed that the kids rarely read anything. Although I am a writer, they could care less about reading my works. And they will never consider Clancy, Rowling, Dickinson, Updike, or any of Hemingway’s works.

Even as school assignments, the older kids have insiders on the internet who…

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
Just Thoughts

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com