HUMOR and THE HUMAN BODY

The Body I Occupy is Getting Old, Please Meet My Organs

My body parts are still operational and haven’t slowed down much, they exist mostly to humor me

Lee J. Bentch
Just Thoughts
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2024

--

An image of models of the human body
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

I call my belly Bob, short for Belly of the Beast. He expands and contracts with the seasons and enjoys fine dining, junk food, and an occasional beer.

I feed him almost anything nowadays. As we get older together, I work hard to keep him happy.

My body parts appreciate having names.

My male appendage is called the Governor and his two cousins. The Governor is appropriate because my glorious appendage thinks it has power. But in reality, it’s just a dick.

My knees are Simon and Garfunkel. They worked closely together for years but separated due to conflicting personalities. Simon, my right knee, wants to run marathons. My left knee, Garfunkel, has his ideas, but it is sometimes painful. On certain days, when the temperature is cool and the humidity is well balanced, they get along ideally. But those days are slipping and sliding away quickly.

I refer to my brain as Hemingway. I jokingly pretend that when I’m in my writing zone and words flow like water, I’m the embittered soul of Papa Hemingway. My…

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
Just Thoughts

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com