Mini-Series: The Addams Family/ Addams Family Values

Why do some franchises not make it past two films?

Darren Zouga
Just to talk about

--

The Addams Family (1991) Credit: Paramount Pictures/ Scott Rudin Productions

Welcome to a new column I’ve wanted to do for some time. I’ll be writing about short-lived film franchises — ones with only one sequel. I’ll be discussing each film, the key players, their degrees of success and I’ll be determining the reason we never got more entries.

Some criteria:

The films, of course, must only number two, have no sequels on the horizon, and enough years must have passed that we can consider the potential series dead in the water. Multiple key players, both behind and in front of the camera need to be involved in the sequel. In other words, it needs to be a legitimate sequel, seeking to build a franchise off a hit. Not a legacy sequel, like the recent Hocus Pocus 2.

This week, I’m looking at the creepy, the kooky, the mysterious and spooky, the altogether ooky, The Addams Family!

I was trepidatious about Netflix’s new show Wednesday because I’m so used to The Addams Family being an ensemble affair, but was pleasantly surprised. Another reason I took a second to warm up to that show is how spoiled I was by the iconic and unique performances given in the early 90’s classics.

--

--

Darren Zouga
Just to talk about

Film and story lover. Writer. Catholic. Happy to be here.