Choose Your Door, Open It, and Write

Sitara Morgenster
Just Write
Published in
5 min readAug 23, 2021

--

9 Easy Writing Prompts, Opening Doors to Your Imagination

Image Created by the Author, from Unsplash Images in Canva. [Credits For Each Individual Door Below.]

Doors have been in my life recently. I guess doors are everywhere, but I didn’t mean it literally. Neither in terms of the clichéd ‘when one door closes another always opens’. Even though that is true, as clichés often are.

The doors I’m talking about are found on page 86 of bestselling author and artist SARK’s “Juicy Pens, Thirsty Paper”.

There’s also a door in ‘Miracle’, the beautiful movie title song by Ilse DeLange. (“Someone put a lock on this old door, it’s been beaten up and used and more, it’s been kicked a hundred thousand times…”). My friend Christina is a professional singer and has asked me along as a sidekick. But first she wants me to practice, practice, practice, until she decides I’m good enough to appear with her on stage.

Combined, these doors gave me the idea for ‘writing prompts behind closed doors’. It goes like this: You choose a door, ‘open’ it, and follow the prompt it opens up to, and write.

  • Set aside five, ten or twenty minutes to write. Choose the time before you begin, and set a timer. Stop when the timer goes of.
  • Intuitively pick one of these nine doors, then follow the writing prompt beside it.

--

--

Sitara Morgenster
Just Write

Forest Reporter & Creativity Correspondent | IFJ-accredited Journalist | Using my head to write from the heart.