Birthday Fragments

A Poem

Jenny Justice
Justice Poetic

--

Photo by Bruce Tang on Unsplash

Birthday suit birthday cute
It’s only been seen by a handful of people
Select few
Who didn’t appreciate it enough
Seen by thousands I suppose if you count
The summers in the woods of Michigan in August, our Festival
All naked women all the time
Dancing singing walking dreaming
That space is gone now
It wasn’t appreciated either
I don’t know when I will show this wonder
To anyone again or how but I know the next time I do
It will be given the respect it’s due

All I can think is isn’t it nice to not be living a lie with a liar anymore
To not be being cheated by a cheater
Or tricked by a trickster
Conned by a chameleon
Who didn’t care at all

Whatever is empty in me
I can fill
Eventually

What he did
Was on him
Not me

Birthday
Looking like 21, some say, 31, others say
Feeling everything in between…

--

--

Jenny Justice
Justice Poetic

Writer| Mom | Poet | Book Nerd | Teacher? | Brings Poetry to life with empathy, connection, joy, justice, and feeling. Poetry Fangirl