I

A Poem

Jenny Justice
Justice Poetic

--

Two almost three deaths in a week I
came to write about the stars to gaze at the stars

not be pummeled by them
not have them laugh at me and glare I

came to find peace not to mourn endlessly I came
to study and learn and reflect in wonder

I came to feel like I have a home in it all I came to
belong and belong and belong

And I find oh I find that some don’t want me
I find that some don’t care or understand

and that somehow this is fine for them to do to gossip and judge
dismiss and trivialize when I came

to give gifts and to glow
I came to question and to know

I do not have time to struggle with others
in their boxes for me

I do not have time to play high school games
to be that wallflower waiting for a chance to dance

I came to let my heart explode
with the joy if my own self

to fill my own self with what pleases
my soul with what makes my soul feel

--

--

Jenny Justice
Justice Poetic

Writer| Mom | Poet | Book Nerd | Teacher? | Brings Poetry to life with empathy, connection, joy, justice, and feeling. Poetry Fangirl