Water drop at the tip of a leaf

2022

Few things I’m letting go this year

Justine Win
Justine Win Stories
3 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

No more multitasking at work

Before I left for vacation, I put a document together outlining all of my responsibilities and remaining work. While seeing a huge list gave me satisfaction that I’m able to handle so many things simultaneously, it also brought guilt knowing that I’ll be away for that long. Going back was a nightmare because I have to catch up on so many things. By the second week of January, I was already tired and done with 2022.

What I need to do: Communicate my work preference to my lead and be comfortable turning down projects and responsibilities, especially if it results to more impactful and sustainable work.

What I did: I threw away all my old post-it notes and allowed the important things to naturally find their way back to me. I’m now trying to wrap up two projects so I can focus on the other two which are far more important.

No more relying on a partner

When my relationship ended, there were things that I now find harder to do like spending weekends and doing grocery shopping alone. I stopped caring about how I look because there was no one to impress anymore. Worst of all, I didn’t try making new friends because I treated my ex as my “bestfriend”. I forgot to please and live for myself.

What I need to do: Don’t stop doing things just because I’m in a relationship. Allow myself to be fully independent once in a while. “I gotta put me first”, as Tiktok says.

What I did: I started grocery shopping, exercising regularly, eating healthy, and treating myself to salon. It feels so nice to look at the mirror and be proud of your reflection. I can do this and I’ll continue to do so even when I’m in a new relationship. But also, I don’t mind being alone for a year 🤷‍♀️

No more sitting on my passion

Moving to Canada and experiencing three years of pandemic really sucked the energy out of me. I was living on survival mode trying to adapt in a new environment while the world is on fire. Because of all the stress, I slowed down on things I enjoy doing like gaming, community work, and writing. I did exactly the opposite of what I should be doing in order to overcome stress. Being home in the Philippines for a month allowed me to rekindle that spark— I was able to game every day with my sisters and loved every moment of it.

What I need to do: Rekindle my passion on gaming, community work, and writing. Heck, even pick up new hobbies like painting, kalimba, and clay pottery?

What I did: Downloaded League of Legends and Call of Duty and started playing them with friends. I’m writing this article tonight as my first article of the year. I might purchase a kalimba this week.

Moral of the story: Putting yourself first requires letting go of other things. How about you, what are you letting go this year?

--

--

Justine Win
Justine Win Stories

I am a product designer who codes and a passionate learner of things • Currently @Gusto, ex @Shopify • https://justinewin.com