Expert Interview Series: Victor Conesa of Justinmind on IT Careers Today

Justinmind
Justinmind

--

Victor Conesa is Product Manager at Justinmind, where he uses his business, tech and UX experience to refine and promote Justinmind’s interactive prototyping tool.

Here, Victor discusses his IT career and shares his insight on the type of training that would most benefit those interested in getting into the industry right now. Read on:

Can you tell us about your background and interest in IT?

Actually I didn’t start out wanting to get into IT! I started out thinking about a career in architecture; the idea of building something from the ground up really attracted me. Then as I got a little older I got into computers and studied Computer Engineering for my first degree. That’s pretty much when I realized that computing, or rather software development, has things in common with architecture: you make something from scratch, you build.

From there I went on to study a Masters in Computer Science and while I was doing that, got involved with Justinmind. Starting out as a Product Manager was a great way to go deeper into the industry and understand the realities of how to solve complex problems, whether design problems or business problems.

How has your career evolved since you got started?

I think I’ve evolved to have a clear understanding of the product in the round; as a Product Manager you have to learn how to monitor the competition, refine business strategy and stay focused on user needs. My early years were spent learning how to do all that.

When I moved up to VP of Product Development, I had to shift up a gear and really think strategically about the business as a whole. In the early days I was in the thick of it, directing the team through everyday challenges and getting my hands dirty; now my involvement in Product Development means I have a more global, strategic focus and a huge sense of my role in the success of the business.

Read the full interview on PCAge’s blog!

--

--

Justinmind
Justinmind

The best tool to design and prototype web and mobile apps: www.justinmind.com