What Wednesday #36: Daytona 500

Today I hang out with Redneck Jesus himself, Dale Jr.

Justin Blake
justPLAYING
3 min readFeb 24, 2017

--

What Wednesday is where I talk about what I’m watching, reading, playing, etc, because for some reason I think you’ll find that interesting. If you have recommendations, I’d love to hear them :)

What I’m Working On: The Daytona 500

Who knew you needed so much crap for an interview?

I worked on the Super Bowl a few weeks ago. Now I’m working on the redneck Super Bowl, the Daytona 500! It’s definitely not my first 500, but it’s one of my biggest because Redneck Jesus, Dale Jr., is back after missing the 2nd half of last year with a concussion. Exciting times! To commemorate, we had a sit-down with him, his wife and Jeff Gordon. That’s a lot of racing star power in one room. Instead of telling you about the shoot, I figured I’d show you. You can look for the finished product this Sunday on Fox. The pre-race show airs at 1pm and it will air near the end of it. Check it out. NASCAR can use the help in the ratings…

Setting things up at Dale’s ranch. What, your house doesn’t have a 70’s gas station outside? Lame.
What, you also don’t have a re-created Bull Durham bus with a bar inside. Double lame.
Casually hanging out with Jeff Gordon, Dale Jr, and his wife Amy. In these situations, positive self talk helps calm the nerves. “Be cool, Justin, be cool. Say something funny, but not too funny. Look like you’re professional, but also chill. You’re crushing it right now.”
“Left foot, right foot, left foot, right foot. Nailed it!”
Looking good fam!
My view for the interview.

Bonus: I also got to hang out with Danica Patrick and Tony Stewart in Detroit at Ford HQ, where I got to see where they designed the $500,000 Ford GT. Which is also kinda cool, I guess.

Danica Patrick chilling in a Ford GT while Tony Stewart looks on. Just your typical, boring day at work.
Various full size (and mini!) clay designs of the GT. Yes, the all white model is clay. Crazy!
Getting ready to roll. Pro tip: the thinking man pose makes people believe you know what you’re doing.
4 cameras, 4 times the fun!

--

--

Justin Blake
justPLAYING

I make documentaries and stuff. Love art house & samurai battles, vinyl & 4K.