What Wednesday #8

Today I go beyond Star Trek, form Voltron to blow stuff up, and listen to *gasp* modern rock.

Justin Blake
justPLAYING
3 min readAug 3, 2016

--

What Wednesday is where I talk about what I’m watching, reading, playing, etc, because for some reason I think you’ll find that interesting. If you have recommendations, I’d love to hear them :)

What I’m Watching — Star Trek: Beyond

Or as I like to call it, Star Trek: Guardians of the Galaxy Lite Edition (also acceptable, Star Trek: Tiberius Drift). The similarities aren’t exactly subtle: 80s music, check; rag tag crew, check; Zoe Saldana, check. Apparently, that’s exactly what they were aiming for. But that’s not a problem to me, because I freakin’ loved GotG. I’m also no Star Trek traditionalist: the original series was plenty goofy and lots of that complicated sounding science-y lingo was made up for the plot anyhow (they’d literally write “Captain, we can’t tech the tech” and fill in the fancy words later).

[FIRST] Star Trek: 2 Fast 2 Ferengi [SECOND] Stringer doing his best ugly evil alien.
This movie is GORGEOUS, with the best space station world since Elysium. Probably ever.

So the new Star Trek movies have been perfectly fun, largely respectful of the past, but without treating the originals like some holy text that can’t be altered. (Although there is no captain but Captain Jean-Luc Picard.) Beyond follows in that vein pretty well, with liberal homages to the past, some incredible CG action set pieces and ships, kinetic directing, and a menacing villain played by Shera Khan himself, Idris Elba. Among the new movies, it feels the most like a traditional Star Trek movie, like being shipwrecked on an alien planet. Coupled with one of my favorite uses of a Beastie Boys ever (redeeming the terrible original trailer), it all adds up to a ride worth taking. Verdict: Unequivocally the best movie with the word Star in the title this year. So far.

What I’m Also Watching — Voltron: Legendary Defender (Netflix)

Voltron is the second* best 80s nostalgia based Netflix show right now. (*I know, I know, Stranger Things is the best thing ever made. And I’ll get there soon enough, but we’re still working through Orange is the New Black. Got to pace myself.) Unlike some other kids shows, Voltron is all kid. No adult themes here. It has one goal: giant robots fighting and Blowing. Things. Up. And, boy, does it ever, with great animation and one of the best surround sound mixes I’ve heard in a TV show. Plus, Murray from Flight of the Conchords has a leading role. He’s actually pretty funny, too! Verdict: Come for the giant robots, stay for the GIANT ROBOTS.

[FIRST] MOAR EXPLOSIONS! [SECOND] Either giant robots battling in space, or a Skrillex concert.

What I’m Listening To — Boy King, Wild Beasts

Do you think modern music is crap? That there’s only hip hop and pop music out there? Think rock is dead? Follow this handy guide to fix what ails you:

  1. Start listening to Wild Beasts and their brand of groovy art-rock with a modern sensibility.
  2. Fire up Spotify, SoundCloud, or Apple Music and go to the rock genre. There’s literally never been more music out there to listen to. Of all kinds. Go nuts.

--

--

Justin Blake
justPLAYING

I make documentaries and stuff. Love art house & samurai battles, vinyl & 4K.