The enthralling experience- My Memoirs at Juvenile Care VIT

By: Ananya Somani

Juvenile Care VIT
Juvenile Care, VIT
3 min readJun 1, 2022

--

Joining Juvenile care or as we call it ,JC was never a part of my elaborate college plan but now it makes up for a large fraction of my life. I only joined JC because somewhere deep down I knew that I wanted to help people and give back to the society in any way I can. Being initially just a club I was just a part of, I soon realized that I could touch so many lives and spread happiness.

I jumped on the first opportunity that I got to interact with the children and oh boy what a experience it was! The excitement and happiness of those little children was such a beautiful thing to see. For the first I experienced something bigger than myself. JC has helped me bring some sunshine into the lives of the children that might not be privileged but still have an uplifting spirit.

Another event we had with an all-girls NGO was truly eye-opening. They might not have anything and everything in the world but their aspirations and dreams were an inspiration to all of us to do something amazing in life and it was the day I realized that no dream is ever unachievable.

Being a volunteer at this club has also helped me build interpersonal skills and accelerated my personal growth. Over the course of time, it has helped me become a good listener as well as a good speaker. Also developing some sensitivity towards other people’s needs. Over a period of time, this club has helped me develop communication, leadership, and decision-making skills, making me more empathetic towards others’ feelings.

One of the main benefits of being a part of an institution like JC is the ability to have my contribution of time and skills help someone find a new hope for their future. The young children look forward to meeting you, hearing your advice and more importantly learning from you. it can also help you become a role model for many individuals and communities who often lack opportunities and resources.

By helping various unprivileged children, I have been a part of contributing towards the upliftment of the community and the nation as a whole. I finally realized I had an amazing opportunity of willingly serving the community for no absolute personal gain. Also with the help of JC I have been able to foster teamwork and community development, helping me find some of my best friends in my university . All these experiences have made me extremely mindful of the small things that can impact the society and benefit its people and the difference my minimal efforts can bring in someone’s life.

Moreover for the first time in my life, I have had a way of helping out someone without any personal gain which is a very cathartic experience. It also helped my family lend a helping hand towards them by donating as many things as they could like clothes, food, books etc.

I have also successfully been able to encourage my friends to be little grateful for what they have while understanding that how so many people achieve beautiful heights without even having the bare minimum.

I believe that this club has helped me change multiple lives however remotely. Providing me with an opportunity to do something for others and be a small part of their lives. All I hope is to add a little happiness, kindness and love to the life of those I can.

--

--

Juvenile Care VIT
Juvenile Care, VIT

We are a Non Profit Organisation which is based out of VIT, Vellore. We strive to utilise this platform to provide a forum for creative and fruitful discussions