“man looking up” by Leio McLaren (@leiomclaren) on Unsplash

I Don’t Get It!

Kenneth R. Jenkins
K! Magazine
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2018

--

By Kenneth R. Jenkins

It is written in the Scripture that if a man doesn’t work, he doesn’t eat. This is certainly a fact that goes without merit.

And so, this is why I wonder why so many people won’t get up and work they get something from the government in substitute of going out make an HONEST living.

An idle mind is certainly the Devil’s workshop if you don’t apply good work principle without getting a hand-out but getting a hand-up.

Today’s youth need to learn how to earn money by the work of their hands instead of asking their parents for every little penny. An HONEST day job is better than prison time and life lost that could have been spent productively.

My mother taught this principle as a youth growing up and is still to this day has been with me since and I turned out alright.

I don’t get it when healthy people go out sell drugs, commit acts of unforgivable crimes and live with themselves. While these dishonest people go out and do these crimes while hard working people go out and make a HONEST living with their hands.

I remember what the old folks use to say to me a long time ago, “a little hard work won’t kill you but only make you better”. Believe it or not, it does work and it is all true especially how times are now a days.

I remember at age 16, I gotten my first job cutting grass at Francis Bartow Homes during the summer. My mom was instrumental in getting the job for me; my first summer job a chance to make some money during the summer. She instilled in me the importance of making your own money the honest way.

It is good to encourage your child, parents to get a paper route, walk kind someone’s dog, wash cars or even cut grass; any kind of honest work is better than not having one at all and it keeps you out of trouble. So the message is GET OFF YOUR BUTTS AND SOMETHING WITH YOURSELVES! Be good to yourself and to others.

Kenneth R. Jenkins is a freelance writer, podcast producer/host, minister, poet, devoted husband living in Savannah, GA

--

--

Kenneth R. Jenkins
K! Magazine

Freelance Writer, Poet, Podcast Host/Producer,Minister, Devoted Husband, Editor of K! Magazine.