It’s Time. Thank You & Bye Meteor

Arunoda Susiripala
KADIRA VOICE
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2016

TLDR: There’s nothing wrong with Meteor. I lost interest in Meteor so it’s hard for me to maintain all of my Meteor-related projects. Therefore, I am seeking help from the community to take over those projects. Finally, thank you for all who helped me in during these past three years.

Early Days

I started my Meteor journey with a testing framework for Meteor called Laika; after that, I tried to help the community with projects like Meteor Cluster, Oplog Integration, Sub Manager, Flow Router and many other projects.

I had so fun and really enjoyed hacking into Meteor and writing blog posts. That’s when I started MeteorHacks.

Kadira

I did all of these from my own funds and wanted a way to make a living while working on Meteor-related projects. That’s when I started a project called Comet Engine (only a few of you guys know that). That’s something very similar to Galaxy but which worked pretty well in 2013.

I learned that Galaxy was on the horizon and I didn’t want to compete with MDG, so I decided to shut it down and try to start something new. That’s Kadira. (A performance monitoring service for Meteor)

Kadira works really well for us. We couldn’t make it a million dollar business, but I could make a living out of that (including our team at Kadira.)

Technology Change

There have been a lot of things that have changed since 2013 in the tech eco-system. To sum it up, now we don’t talk about jQuery. If we are still using jQuery, it’s like an anti-pattern.

So, I lost interest in working with Meteor-related projects; instead, I really love to work with React and GraphQL-related projects. For example, React Storybook is one of our most successful projects, and something I really like to work on.

Besides that, I really like to work with projects like Create React App and Next.js.

It’s Time

If you are using any of our Meteor projects at kadirahq org, you may have noticed that we’ve almost stopped working on those projects.

Yes — I want to make that official. I really lost the interest of working with Meteor, and it’s pretty hard for me to support those projects for newer versions of Meteor.

Therefore, I really want help from the community to take over those projects and to maintain them. If you have time to work on those projects, try to create an issue on those repos, and let’s discuss the transition.

Thank You

I was able to personally meet a bunch of Meteor developers (and friends) at the Meteor Camp NYC, and I want to thank the organizers (specially Adrian and Alim) for that. I also got a chance to hang out with the core team of MDG at the Meteor HQ; it was a pretty exciting experience.

Throughout these years, a lot of you guys have helped out in various ways, including Github PRs, issues, and grammar fixes.

Thank you all!

Finally

I’m not leaving the dev community at all. I am still working on React and GraphQL-related projects, and you will see some interesting news in the near future. I started a new Medium publication called JavaScript Mantra and you will be able to read my writings and project updates.

See you guys; until next time!

--

--