How do you measure a copywriter?

Kateryna Abrosymova
Kaiiax Consulting
Published in
7 min readJul 12, 2017

--

Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

At some point, everybody at Yalantis started calculating their KPIs. Sales would calculate the number of deals they closed per month. Developers would calculate the number of bugs their software produced. Managers would calculate the level of happiness in their client’s feedback.

And I was like copywriter’s KPIs? Meh. That’s subjective. You can’t measure a copywriter's performance.

Let’s make it clear, I am not talking about marketing KPIs here. Your copywriter is only a little guilty of that embarrassing number of leads you got last month. If you’re a marketing manager, you’re the one to blame. Not your copywriter.

As a marketing manager, I have my own KPIs. They are CPL, CPqL, and the number of qualified leads. Now I needed to calculate my copywriters’ KPIs. I didn’t know how to do it. And to be honest, I didn’t want to.

But then, my friend, colleague, and business partner Ian said: “I know you hate it, Kate. But you’ve got to do it.”

And he was right.

We needed to create the space for growth for our copywriters. And we also needed to base our feedback on their performance on something…

--

--