What bouldering has taught me about user research

Annefloor (Anna) Carels
Kainos Design
Published in
4 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by Annefloor Carels

A brief intro to (indoor) bouldering: climbing without ropes or harnesses on artificial walls that have various holds and relying on strength, technique, and problem-solving to climb short routes. A successful climb is marked by having both hands on the last hold.

I signed up for a bouldering induction in April 2024 having only tried it once before during university. I instantly loved climbing, and wondered why it appealed to me over other activities I have tried? Then I realised how similar bouldering is to my role as a user researcher.

In this post I will share my top 5 learnings and hopefully encourage people to try bouldering for themselves or to look at your own hobbies and how they relate to your work!

1) The art of iteration

When climbing, I attempt routes multiple times and learn what works and doesn’t, making changes until I can complete the climb successfully. And then again if I found it particularly difficult.

Similarly, in user research, testing designs with users over a length of time can ensure the product better meets the needs of the users. By being iterative, whether in user research or in bouldering, you can achieve better results. It has taught me to persevere and the art of iteration.

2) The strength in failing

To improve my climbing, I must learn from my “failures”. Instead of calling it failing it is called “working on a project” which means you are still attempting and refining the climb or ‘problem’ until you figure it out.

Not being able to finish a climb can be frustrating. It was easy for me to think I can’t do it and I failed, but instead I take it as an opportunity to try again and learn from why I couldn’t complete the climb.

Similarly, in user research, setbacks are normal and provide an opportunity to learn and improve the research methods or approaches. This is part of your learning experience and is not a failure but rather, continuing to work on something until you can do it successfully.

3) Embracing the challenges

Bouldering has been challenging both physically and mentally. As I attempt more difficult climbs and get stronger, it is not just my physical strength holding me back but also my mental strength.

Sometimes I am mid-way on a climb and fear kicks in that I may slip and fall so I end up climbing back down and rethinking the climb. It’s difficult in those moments not to give up and attempt an easier climb. To let challenges stop me.

I face the same issue in user research, where challenges arise in understanding the user needs or behaviours, or the unexpected happens. Both require perseverance and problem solving to reach the end goal.

4) Planning, strategy, and risk management

Before starting user research or bouldering, I strategise how I am going to accomplish my goal.

In research, I plan the session, select methods, and prepare for data collection. In bouldering, it’s essential to look at the route before I climb and work out how I can reach some holds that may seem impossible. For both user research and bouldering, I also need to manage the situation to reduce risk as much as possible.

5) Attention to detail

Bouldering requires attention to detail: handholds, footholds, and where my body is positioned. Sometimes I can struggle with a climb, so I come down and realise I have missed an obvious hold, or I was misplacing my feet that could have helped me to complete my climb!

User research requires a similar attention to detail, I need to observe, ask the right questions, and analyse user interactions and feedback. By paying close attention to the users during data collection, I might realise they hesitated in a split second and I can ask follow-up questions to probe into this.

Conclusion

Bouldering teaches you to adapt to routes and to your ability to complete them. The same way I need to adapt in user research and be flexible in my methods and approaches depending on the context, and the user needs.

Both activities allow me to be creative and find unique ways to solve problems.

I encourage you to look at your own hobbies and how these relate to your work. Our hobbies can improve our work or provide a much-needed break, whichever it is it’s important to make the time for them.

Acknowledgements: many thanks to Richard Furlong and Lizzie Coates for helping me to shape this blog post.

--

--