That 12th Man
Kakofonie
Published in
2 min readDec 27, 2023

--

Rejoined am I, once more with you, oh beautiful sands,
Not for a while thought I, as we’ve been through enough for the others to understand,
Like the gentle waves, striking at my feet with the promise of taking me away,
To a land lost long ago, where once freedom was mine to dictate,
From the land where I put on masks to shield me from some and shield some from me,
To the land of the happy, the wild and the free,
My eyes see the vision I’ve always meant to see,
The rapturous sea that so well binds with my soul,
Sands of the past remnant in the waves,
As the want for something new propels me forward,
The land of the old and of the new,
Melting into one cosmic place,
The epitome of comfort and spiritual awakening felt when your feet met mine,
Haha! We’ve kicked ass buddy, and got a few more to go,
Beers and bongs till we find ourselves
Knee-deep in the golden shore.

Alright let’s take a moment more,
From the wake n’ bakes to cakes for munchies that couldn’t wait,
From the silent mornings filled with aspersions of what could be,
To the bright mornings of “it is what it is”,
“Haha” to you once more my friend,
One whose stories more that even films can tell,
Stories of people screaming that epic yell,
Guess life is to be more like you,
Waving away to your own beat,
Till I sync to another and slip away,
Back till I get to your cosmic space,
Knee-deep in the golden shore.

--

--

That 12th Man
Kakofonie

More like freerunner navigating through life, more falls when not being filmed, and more smooth when observed