The Golden Frame

That 12th Man
Kakofonie
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2022
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

Across it blew, the gentle summer breeze,
Turbulent waves clashing at the rocks in the sea,
The last few drops left of the day’s sunshine,
I saw an image that’d last forever in my mind.

And as I went on to light another cigarette,
I couldn't help but smile looking at that lovely silhouette,
The waves splattered drops to gently embrace the skin,
As if they were slowly washing away my sins,
How could I not help but feel that way.

As the figure in the silhouette started to sway,
A flurry of words in my mind as I tried to explain,
But the beauty in front of me was hard to explain,
No I'm not talking about the looks, that’s certain,
It was the setting sun, the waves, the winds and a beautiful person,
Not one for over glorifying with cliched terms.

It wasn't often that I was lost for words,
The analogies were in the frame for one to see.
Let's start with the raging sea,
The turbulent waves from afar that clashed,
Stood for the trauma through which she slashed,
All the drama distracting like the waves' noise,
And yet she faced it with that ever so elegant poise.

She didn't act like a damsel in distress,
Matter of fact, she never failed to impress,
Glowing as the last few rays of the sun shined,
It was poignant to remember she was also one of mankind,
Underneath all our tough exterior hides,
We do go through our vulnerable sides,
And some times as things seem to cave in,
I hope to see her just ride the waves.

So goes down the sun,
Mellowing down the fun,
A chilly wind that felt like ice,
The stars and the moon will soon materialize,
Recovering for words after that "lost phase",
We look up to the skies to star gaze,
For time had passed and the sun stopped shining,
A sliver of the moon appearing like a silver lining,
We lost all our sense of timing,
It felt poetic, you know, like rhyming.

The greens blowing puffs of smoke like good sage,
The moment felt like it had been conjured by a mage,
And so went the day and so will go the years,
That's how we know life is like it is over here.
And if I knew when my time had come,
I'd be honest, probably first pour a 45 of rum,
After laughing at the things I'd done that were lame,
I'd smile remembering the time I saw that golden frame.

LNER

--

--

That 12th Man
Kakofonie

More like freerunner navigating through life, more falls when not being filmed, and more smooth when observed