Easy Breakfasts

Breakfast made easy

Lydia Jenkins
Kale Me Foody
3 min readJul 8, 2017

--

Breakfast is my favorite meal, but I have found that I like to make the same things every day. This is all fine but its always good to switch things up, so instead of my usual yogurt or oatmeal with berries and mangos I have started trying new fruits ad fruits that I would not usually put on oatmeal or yogurt. I also love trying different milks like flax seed milk or cashew milk (I have yet to try this but I plan on buying it in the near future), or sugars like coconut sugar, which has become a favorite.

Result: my breakfasts have been so much more exciting. I look forward to seeing how I can change my breakfast each day, Not to mention that its so easy.

My breakfast routine consists of making coffee and sweetening it with almond milk, then I usually choose one of the following:

Toast: This is quite exciting as you can put basically anything on it, any nut butter, fruits, nuts, granola, seeds and much more. My usual toast is cashew butter with bananas, pecans and chia seeds. Another one of my favorites is almond butter with honey and bananas put in the oven on broil for five minutes.

Yogurt: This has been one of my new favorites, I eat it probably three days a week. Although almond milk and grass fed whole milk yogurt are delicious my ultimate favorite has been SoDelicious coconut yogurt. They have many flavors but my favorite is plain as it has the least amount of sugar and the most distinct coconut flavor. My breakfast for today was coconut yogurt with figs, apples, kiwis, gronola and hemp seeds.

Oatmeal: I know this does not sound very exciting but oatmeal can be the perfect breakfast. When I make my oatmeal I put about half a cup of oats and more than a cup of almond milk in a bowl then microwave it for one minute. I discoverd recently that putting more almond milk than usual makes the oatmeal so much creamier. After this I add little bit of coconut sugar, nuts, berries and chia seeds and put it back in the microwave for one more minute. This breakfast if perfect for a rainy day.

Smoothies: Last but not least as you can do many things with this one. My favorite is smoothie bowl but just a plain smoothie is perfect too. the problem I generally have is trying to make the smoothie nutritious enough to be a whole meal. This can be solved by the toppings, like nut butter, nuts and chia seeds, but you can also go ahead and blend all of these things into the smoothie. Another way to get protein into your smoothie is by adding protein powder, I hardly even taste the difference. I also love adding kale, spinach, or any green veggie I have in my fridge to make my smoothies just a little more nutritious. You really can’t beat a colorful smoothie.

Those are just my favorites, you can play around with anything and everything in your kitchen for breakfast. Really theres so much more you can do. Be creative!

--

--