VIDEO GAMES

5 Video Games My Boyfriend Made Me Play that I Actually Like

Kayle Kessinger
Kale Salad
Published in
3 min readJul 8, 2019

--

One of my favorite things to do is watch my boyfriend play video games. He gets so invested in playing, and it’s so cute to see that look of determination roll across his face.

Unlike him, however, I am decidedly not a gamer. Still, that doesn’t stop him from begging me to play video games. And with puppy dog eyes like his, how can I say no?

Now that I’ve made an attempt at nearly all of the games in his collection, I can narrow down the ones I actually enjoy playing.

5. Skyrim

3.5/5 stars

Pros: The graphics are really pretty and the music is phenomenal. I can spend the whole time picking flowers if I want.

Cons: I kept getting stuck and lost in the river by the first town you can go to after the tutorial. Also, I am not good at stealing, but maybe that is my problem, rather than a flaw with the game.

4. Dark Souls

4/5 stars

Pros: It didn’t make me cry in terror like Dark Souls 3 and Metro: Exodus. Plus, stabbing skeleton after skeleton is a great way to relieve your frustrations about your boyfriend’s crazy Mormon roommate, who thinks women shouldn’t have rights and that vaccines cause autism.

Cons: I just don’t like combat heavy games that much. Also, the fact that you look like beef jerky for a lot of the game kind of freaks me out. And quite frankly, I don’t like getting that intimate with a pig.

3. Mario Odyssey

4.5/5 stars

Pros: “Jump Up, Superstar!” is an absolute bop! This is actually the first and only game I have fully completed on my own. I love the eclecticism of the different levels. There’s a little bit of everything. My personal favorite are the water worlds; I’m a huge slut for animated water.

Cons: What the fuck is up with that random T-Rex? Also, I hate that city of Gotham vibe I got from one of the later levels; the style just felt completely out of place within the typical Mario world.

2. God of War 3

4.9/5 stars

Pros: Not gonna lie, I really like that there’s an easy mode on this game. The story-line is phenomenal; it’s seriously movie material. The graphics, music, and voice actors are stunning. Not to mention, Kratos is kind of hot.

Cons: The only thing that prevents this from being a 5 star game is that it makes me sad. That, and Atreus is a little bitch.

Honorable Mention: Overcooked

3/5 stars

Pros: This game is only fun because we can play it together and show off our mad communication skills. Also, you can be a cat chef and a raccoon chef, and that’s pretty fun, I guess.

Cons: Literally everything. It’s so stressful and difficult. It demands to be played with multiplayer because it is impossible to play solo. The music only serves to stress you out more. It honestly makes me miss playing Cooking Mama on my Nintendo DSi when I was younger, and I hated that game.

1. Stardew Valley

1,000,000/5 stars

Pros: I love the retro vibe! The music is so fun, and all of the little idiosyncrasies you learn about the different characters make it have real depth. I love the both immediate and long term gratification of taking care of the farm. Don’t even get me started on the blatant anti-capitalism message that makes me thrive. I’m a huge romantic, so I love that I can woo and marry different characters. ConcernedApe really said “Gay rights!!!” with this one. Oh, yeah! Haven’t you heard? One guy created the whole thing! Code, story, music, everything.

Cons: Since I’ve been home for the summer, I’ve been going through some serious Stardew Valley withdrawals. Stardew Valley addiction is a social-life threatening illness, and should you exhibit symptoms, please reach out to someone you trust.

There you go; the definitive list of games I don’t hate. Until next time gamers!

What are your favorite non-gamer approved games? What games do you think I should try based on this list? If you were going to make a me gamer, what games would you make me try? Let me know, and stay tuned for updates and reviews.

--

--