Hello from Cwenne Chua (Me) ^___^ ©Alexis Collado

What One Week as a Product Design Intern at Kalibrr Taught Me About Design

Cwenne Chua
Kalibrr Design

--

Last June 1, I graduated from university. Unlike the conventional route of looking for a job, I decided to take on an internship given that the field I am interested in — design, requires a minimum knowledge and skill level. With the help of my friends, I figured that taking an internship would be beneficial for me as an aspiring designer given that it would allow me to develop my skills while learning from more experienced individuals. Taking on an internship would also allow me to address my recurring imposter syndrome and help me build more self-confidence (especially with regards to my career choices).

I applied at Kalibrr, a technology company whose main product is a talent marketplace where the candidate is at the center of the entire recruitment experience. I found myself inclined towards Kalibrr as I previously received good feedback regarding the company and its employees. Luckily, I was accepted into the organization and so for the next few months, I will be serving as one of their product design interns.

©Alexis Collado

My program is arranged to last for eight weeks under the Enterprise Squad with me directly reporting to Alexis Collado, one of Kalibrr’s Product Designers. As a Product Design Intern, I will actively design solutions to improve Kalibrr’s current platform along with my co-intern, Laura Ang.

During the first week, Laura and I were given the usual Kalibrr onboarding process so as to make us more familiar with the company. We were briefly introduced to the company’s different functions, processes, and practices, amongst others. We were also given the opportunity to sit in and listen to team meetings. During the first day, we were immediately exposed to a Sprint Planning session, an agile ceremony wherein the team discusses its next steps for a time duration — for Kalibrr, it is two weeks.

Kalibrr Design Interns (from left): Laura Ang & Cwenne Chua (Me) | ©Alexis Collado

Here are six things I learned during my first week:

1. Design is a process. Trust the process.

As a type A, serial planner and self-proclaimed perfectionist, I always have the tendency to want to do things right at the first try. Jokes on me because my design will probably not be right at my first try, and the next, and so forth. Iteration is part of the process and I will always be designing for there will always be room for improvement.

2. Feedback is a designer’s best-kept weapon.

When found to be stuck while designing, I should not be afraid to ask for feedback. It does not matter at which part of the design process I am in. Apparently, people appreciate seeing the design progress and would love to give input along the way.

Conversely, when people ask for feedback, I should not be afraid to speak up for what I have to say may bring value.

3. Good design is not achieved independently.

For this purpose, I will define good design to be: one that successfully achieves the goal that is set.

Collaborating with everyone involved in building the product is essential to the design process as this allows for a better curated and more refined product. For organizations, it is important to have the different departments involved in order to gather other perspectives. This not only increases creativity but also lessens the possibility of unnecessary mental stress.

4. Good designers are good communicators.

Communication is an essential skill for designers. As a designer, I will more often than not, be designing for someone else — for the user, and other stakeholders, amongst others. It is important that I build my ability to communicate and connect with others — to articulate my thoughts and explain my designs in a manner that can be understood by everyone else, for without this skill, my design might as well be obsolete.

5. It takes time, consistent and constant practice to become a (great) designer.

No great designer was built overnight. I should not only build my strong points but also work on my weak points. There are many ways to practice. I can recreate, redesign or redefine my favorite designs. I can also watch others work and give my own feedback. Practice will not make me perfect, but it will definitely make me a better designer.

6. “Free” time is the best time to learn.

When early to work, not in meetings or working on something, I was given the liberty to do my own thing. Though I admit that I was quite shy to approach people as I was afraid of disturbing and interrupting people while they were working, I acknowledge that my “free” time is actually the best time to learn from others — be it from the people within the company or not.

Kalibrr Design & Interns (from left): Alexis Collado, Laura Ang, Cwenne Chua (Me), Riel Reyes, Mark Lester Lacsamana | ©Jay-R

With what I learned during my first week, I am very excited about what the next weeks have to offer. Kalibrr has lived up to its good reputation (from what I have heard) and I am looking forward to learning more about the organization as well as the people behind it. Though I am expecting a heavier workload now that we have eased our way into the organization, it is with a happy heart that I welcome it.

--

--

Cwenne Chua
Kalibrr Design

Product Designer at Kalibrr (YC Winter 2013) & Designer at Insignia Ventures Partners