First Steps: Picking the story

Temi Giwa
Kaliu.Co
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2021

--

Gosh what was I thinking when I decided to do this. I have friends that have been working on animation for a decade. And here I am in all my reckless hubris promising the internets that I’ll deliver something amazing in a year.

I must be mad

But the world is full of mad people with crazy dreams. I will not be deterred by my own (sometimes paralyzing) fear. We’ll start with baby steps.

The first thing is picking a project

I’ve learned that I can’t learn any new skill if it’s not directly tied to an outcome. I’m result oriented, I don’t care about the details … I just want to get things done. So the first thing I’m going to do is pick the story I’m going to be animating.

Luckily for me, that’s an easy one. I’ve wrote the beginnings of a short story a long time ago that has one of my favorite premises.

It’s a bit dark and has (what I hope will turn out to be gorgeous) scenery, complete with magic spells and in my typical fashion, the main character is an extremely powerful female. Because if I’m not writing a self insert, what’s even the point.

Here’s a synopsis

Our main character (she doesn’t have a name yet) is summoned using an ancient ritual to defeat an army, but there’s a twist. Despite the fact that she’s been summoned from a different dimension, she somehow has memories of the the area she’s been summoned to and of the general who’s…

--

--

Temi Giwa
Kaliu.Co

I write about starting and growing new things. Mostly around startups and how to build your own. I also have opinions … lots of them … come fight me 🤦🏾‍♀️