Meet the Kambrian — Kay

Kambr
Kambr
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2022

Today, we introduce Kay Canoot! Kay joins us as a frontend software engineer. Read about the unplanned adventurous hike he an his wife found themselves on in Portugal and the unexpected party he ended up bartending 👀

Where are you from?

I’m from Maastricht in the south of the Netherlands. Now I live in a small village called Obbicht.

What’s your role at Kambr?

I am a Frontend software engineer who loves creating great user experiences.

What was your path to Kambr?

I already knew a few Kambrians because I worked with them previously. Eventually I had a conversation with Ruud, and he talked me into it ;)

What keeps you busy outside of work?

I have a family with 2 young children, they can keep me quite busy. Other than that, I love to go running, playing tabletop games, and painting miniatures.

What’s your superpower?

I can detach my arms; I can’t reattach them though…

Jokes aside, I can connect to people easily using humor.

What are you proud of?

I would say I’m most proud of my family. Professionally I would say I’m most proud of the team I built during my previous job and will continue without me now.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

This is a tough one, I’ll pick one that first came to mind after I read the question.

Don’t invent the future. This is great advice for personal use in the sense that it is good to try and live in the now. But also professionally, to prevent designing features you probably won’t need.

What’s one thing you love to do?

I love to be crazy and absurd. Or, in other words, be myself and don’t let other people’s judgement hold me back.

What’s the most unusual job you’ve had?

This one is slightly NSFW, but I’m going to share it anyway. Years ago, I worked as a bartender for a company that rented out their theater location for parties. One time they accepted a booking and figured out too late that it was for an erotic party.

What’s your favorite/dream destination to fly to?

I’ve never been to New Zealand or Japan. I would like to see both, Japan for its rich culture and history, New Zealand for its magnificent nature.

What’s the airport you’ve been to the most?

Düsseldorf (DUS), it is the closest large airport to my home.

What’s your favorite aviation related film?

The first movie that came to mind was The Terminal, it is a charming movie.

What’s your most memorable travel moment?

My wife and I went hiking in Portugal and decided to go off the main path to follow a smaller, interesting looking path. This path led us to the topside of a sheer mountain cliff and followed alongside it. The path got rougher and rougher.

We had to jump over a small chasm, hang over the cliff side to step over to the other side, and eventually stood before a point where we had to climb upwards on the cliff surface. At that moment we figured out we were hiking on a mountaineering path, without any safety precautions.

Heeding my wife’s sagacious advice, we turned back. We had to do all those dangerous antics all over again in reverse order. On the way back we noticed all the anchors along the path we somehow missed before.

Window seat or aisle seat?

Window seat, I really like watching the landscape going by from above. Though often it doesn’t really matter. See next question!

Do you have any funny or weird flight stories?

On most intra-EU flights, I just can’t seem to stay awake. I always plan to read an enjoyable book during the flight, but more often than not I fall asleep even before finishing the first page only to wake up just before we land.

--

--