Aspirations by David (15)

KameraKakis
KameraKakis
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2021

David (not his real name) entered the Singapore Boys’ Home at the tender age of 13 for drug-related offences. He is the only child to two parents who work full time. He loves his parents dearly but laments that they do not have enough time to spend with him and that he was mostly left to his own devices throughout his developmental years. He is due to complete his reformative training programme in two months, just in time for his 18th birthday.

Garden

My time in the Boys’ Home has given me many opportunities for reflection and I have spent a lot of time in nature, tending to the flora and fauna within the compound. I was thrilled to see how certain plants were able to bloom despite facing unfavorable conditions for growth. I see myself as one of those plants and I hope to be able to weather through adversity in the future.

Birthday Cake

I used to celebrate my birthday every year with my family without fail. My parents would buy me a mango flavoured birthday cake because it is my favorite. I want to resume that annual tradition and reunite with my family to celebrate my 18th birthday.

Lamborghini Urus

I will be turning 18 this year and I want to learn how to drive, just like my peers. I think that getting a driving license is part and parcel of adulthood and I can’t wait to start a new chapter in my life.

Army Green

I hope that I will be able to do well in the army to make my parents proud. I am looking forward to meeting new friends but dreading the regimented lifestyle. Excited but sian at the same time.

University Town

If possible, I would like to enter a local university. It might take me a longer time to get all the relevant qualifications, but I will try my best.

--

--