Guide to Getting Into the Right NFT’s

The crazy buying has come finally come to an end, but read to the end for an insider info!

Vikranth Kanumuru
Kanlanc
3 min readNov 10, 2021

--

Photo by Old Money on Unsplash

I don’t know about you but when I hear stories about 12 year old’s selling their NFT collections they made using simple Python scripts for fortunes, it definitely sparks a burning fire under my seat.

Like I’ve written so many scripts in Python for various computer vision tasks and I am sure you did too, but can any of these sell for a fortune like theirs?

Probably not.

But then what’s the secret of the kids? …

Jokes aside, I know many of my friends who jumped into Opensea which is the most popular platform to buy NFT’s, to fish for hidden “gems” only to bark up a huge sum and be left with a weird-looking image that had no value.

So….am I telling you not to turn back and never turn your head at NFT’s?

Definitely not!

Why? Because it's a gold mine of an opportunity of course, duh!

I know, I know, my bad, so what I am trying to say is that it’s only worth it if you look at the right places and for me, that is play-to-earn games like Axie infinity, Gods Unchained, Sandbox, Decentraland, and …etc.

Basically, although the bull season(crazy buying) has come to an end, it does not spell the end of NFT’s but actually the opposite which is the rise of NFT’s with utility.

Using the general definition, a particular item has utility when a group of people comes together (in other words, a community) and decides this particular item is of use to this community and hence has value. This value doesn’t have to make sense to people outside this said community as long as it serves some purpose inside.

This is why I believe in play-to-earn games especially the ones that have communities because irrespective of what outsiders think the value of the NFT is decided by the insiders.

I am especially very interested in Gods Unchained because it is relatively a new game with huge upside potential. The discord community is very active and they recently just finished their ICO in which their tokens were completely sold out! (I got up at 5 am just to end up waiting for nothing 😢)

This alone is enough to explain their potential but they are cranking it up further with NFT card tradables with different limited expansion sets thus increasing both diversity and scarcity.

Furthermore, all of this is done in ImmutableX which is a layer 2 solution for NFT’s that reduces transaction fees which further reduces friction to trade.

This is the gem I am looking out for and what I truly believe is gonna blow up in the coming soon future especially considering card games popularity in our history.

Check it out yourself here

Want more from me?

  1. Subscribe to get notified when I publish articles and for receiving updates as soon as I complete how to get into XR and 3D modeling roadmaps.
  2. Support my writing with no extra cost to you by becoming a referred Medium member.
  3. Connect and reach me on Linkedin and Twitter

--

--

Vikranth Kanumuru
Kanlanc

A Curious Fellow in love with Technology — Featured in ABC Australia| 70K+ Views | 9 x Top Writer in Innovation and Startup — https://portfolio.kanlanc.com