Power of Presentation

Kurt Walker
Kanopy
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2016

Cue Guns N’ Roses: “Welcome to the Jungle.”*

“Oh you’re a villain alright

.. just not a SUPER one!”

“What is the Difference?”

“PRESENTATION”

Presentation.

My favorite example of what presentation is, and it’s clear value, being shown through Dreamworks clever, witty, and creative cartoon piece MegaMind (2010).

It’s Not What You Do, But How You Do It

The first thing I think of is, all the storytelling around Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”. Thriller is a killer tune, but don’t tell me the creepy dancing zombies dancing in sync, was not the first thing you thought of.

The premier of this song and dance alone drastically broke new grounds and changed the Music Business forever. After a year of its release it was still selling 1 million copies a month in the Unites States alone.

The amount of preparation that went into this music video is a drop in the bucket compared to the effect it had on our nation.

My father has a way with going big like this.

A great example would be when I was a kid, going camping at the Uintah River Bottoms. Where my Father had been in charge of the event.

(I don’t remember a time where he wasn’t in charge of an event)

After a Long week of camping, hiking fishing and quality time. The end of the week was imminent, having so much fun together, we didn’t want it to end.

My dad, (having this planned the whole week), Said:

“There is just one more thing.”

What could it possibly be?!

Slowly,

steadily

rolling in over the green grass was a massive snorkel lift the size of a thousand pound brown bear.

Swinging from the arm of this crane hung the largest piñata the state of Utah (and myself) has ever seen.

My father, constructed an absolutely massive trojan horse piñata the size of a small car, and none of us knew about it.

Built with fiberboard and large pieces of corrugated cardboard legs holding in the high-pressure waterfall of candy that weighed 200 Lbs+.

It gets better —

stepping up to take a hit, you were handed a sledgehammer.

It would be hard for me to sit here and say this did not shape my thinking, going on to arrange barn dances, concerts, and music festivals across the country. You could say I was taught to throw one hell of a party.

My Father and I shared a great love for bringing great people together and making sure they had the experiences they would never forget.

After that week in Unita, I will never forget,

It’s not what you do, but how you do it.

best,

-Kurt R. Walker

--

--

Kurt Walker
Kanopy
Editor for

Adventurist, Producer & #Entrepreneur collecting experiences & relationships. Resources for businesses. #Funding #Marketing #Music #Food. Who's coming w me?