The start

Jan Deruyck
Guut
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2019

This post appeared originally in my journal on December 29th, 2018. I’ve decided to adapt and publish my journaling, because what good does it do to talk to oneself all the time? If you don’t know me or what we’re about, there’s a little about us here www.kapuchin.com/about and a previous post about my 2018 learnings here.

So here goes…

It’s day 4 of our trip and I’m lying wide awake at 3:30 in the morning. We are flying to Tulum in a couple of hours and I’m excited to spend NYE with a bunch of amazing people.

This year I decided not to write down any new year resolutions. Instead, I want to do a little review to clarify why we decided to pack up our bags and start a new business.

2018 was an incredible year, to say the least. Our son Richard was born mid-February and simultaneously he instigated the rebirth of both Morgane and myself.

Suddenly everything changed. It’s not about ‘you’ or ‘I’ anymore. We were overwhelmed with love, admiration and a sense of responsibility. It felt like we were finally standing on our feet. We realized our biological purpose was stronger than our materialistic and egotistical one.

The domino fell and set in place a chain reaction of thoughts and wonders.

After the ‘honeymoon’ weeks pass by, life hits you in the face. I continued working and jumped in pretty hard shortly after his ‘naissance’. Morgane followed 3 months later, but we needed more time. Only 3 months after birth you have to put your child in the hands of strangers. Obviously, they do an amazing job, but they get to spend most of the day with your kid, who changes every minute. It’s hard, and we felt we were missing out too much.

2 months later I joined Summit’s Tulum edition and that’s probably where another important ‘click’ was made.

I learned a lot about the local Mexican culture and ‘stumbled’ into a raw chocolate workshop on the beach. Tero, one of the Four Sigmatic guys, explained how to mix and create healthy raw bars. It sparked some kind of physical creativity in me and when I got back home I shared this energy with Morgane.

After my return to Belgium, Morgane and I continued to make chocolate. We created different variations and played with multiple ingredients as time went by. At some point, we figured out that we missed something in our lives. We missed spending time with our son, we longed to be more creative, we wanted to travel the world, meet new people and build something of our own.

Another holiday in Labenne turned the dream into reality. We calculated what selling everything we had would yield, and it became clear it was totally doable. As always it was Morgane who decided to go for it. One day she came back home shouting: “It’s done, I told them I’m leaving!”.

So that’s where we are now. We quit our jobs, sold everything we owned, the house, the cars, my favorite ice machine and left on Christmas day.

We’re young free full of sugar and up to no good

I’ll be posting updates here about how things work out, what we’re doing and hopefully, you’ll engage and tell us we’re crazy or support us along the way. Looking forward to sharing with all of you.

Jan

--

--

Jan Deruyck
Guut
Editor for

Writing about building a Women’s Health co Guudwoman.com | Angel Investor & Advisor