💯 STORY CHALLENGE

Can you say yes when all those around you say no?

It takes quite a bit of practice (6)

--

Photo by Katrina Wright on Unsplash

Inspired by On The Road, I decide to travel cross country the summer after graduation. I secretly imagine starting a new life out west, finding peace and the answers I seek.

I don’t have a plan. Or a car. I’ll figure it out as I go.

A friend’s grandmother says the trip is a great idea. No one else agrees. They focus on what can go wrong, a woman alone and all. So, to make them feel safe, I ask an ex to go with me.

I’m not yet strong enough to stand against the wishes and anxieties of others.

Not yet.

Follow Karen and Jane’s 100 words for 100 days challenge, May 16-Aug 24.

Buy me a tea — my British Mum will be so proud.

I enjoy deep dives in pools of self-reflection and have discovered the power to change the world within 5' of my feet. I expect to laugh often and die well.

--

--

Jane Kaufman
Karen and Jane’s 100 Words for 100 Days Challenge

I enjoy deep dives in pools of self-reflection and have discovered the power to change the world within 5' of my feet. I expect to laugh often and die well.