💯 STORY CHALLENGE

Sometimes The Middle Of Nowhere Is Exactly Where You Need To Be

‘Cause a roof is a nice thing to have. (28)

--

Photo by GEORGE KASCHEEV: on pexels

“Yeah, I’m out next week.”

“Where ya goin’?”

“Not a clue,” I say with a shrug.

“Hey, I know a place. In Vermont. No electricity, but it’s by a brook, bring a water filter…”

“Seriously? Yes!”

A week later, we bounce for miles down a washboard-y dirt road. He pulls over at an unmarked trailhead.

“It’s about a ten-minute hike from here.”

We crest a hill and walk another 20 yards to the cabin. It’s old and dirty and the staircase is missing a few steps. There’s no toilet.

“Well, what do you think?”

I consider my options.

“It’s perfect.”

Join the fun and follow Karen and Jane’s 100 words for 100 days challenge, May 16-Aug 24.

--

--

Jane Kaufman
Karen and Jane’s 100 Words for 100 Days Challenge

I enjoy deep dives in pools of self-reflection and have discovered the power to change the world within 5' of my feet. I expect to laugh often and die well.