💯 STORY CHALLENGE

Spokane and Wenatchee, Washington

Getting closer to Seattle everyday. (80)

--

Columbia River, Wenatchee, Washington. Author photo.

I spend an uneventful night in Spokane and another in Wenatchee, WA. In Wenatchee, I follow the suggestion of man behind the desk at the Downtown Inn, and have a delicious veggie burger at McGlinns Pub. Afterward, I go to Joe’s Tavern because they have pool tables, but no one is playing and I get wrapped up in writing instead.

In the morning before I leave, I visit the riverfront park that has a walk/bike trail along the Columbia River. I’m out early and people are scarce. I enjoy the quiet and the beauty of the place.

Back on Route 2 for the last leg of my journey to Seattle, I run into traffic going over the mountain. It takes over an hour to travel 15 miles. I ask at a gas station if there’s construction ahead. She says no, this is just regular weekend traffic. Wow.

The best thing about going slow today — I get to (safely) take this pic:

On Route 2 in Washington State

To find out what happens next, follow Karen and Jane’s 100 words for 100 days challenge, May 16-Aug 24.

--

--

Jane Kaufman
Karen and Jane’s 100 Words for 100 Days Challenge

I enjoy deep dives in pools of self-reflection and have discovered the power to change the world within 5' of my feet. I expect to laugh often and die well.