Melting Point

Karen Chung
Karen Chung
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2018

The Overview:

The purpose of this online campaign is to raise awareness about the risks and dangers that Antarctica and the North Pole faces on various social media platforms such as Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat.

Context & Challenge:

The goal was to create posts with the intention of catching the attention of users who are freely scrolling. With the new algorithm on Instagram and Facebook, the top and suggested posts are all company based and much less of the people want to follow. This causes users to skim and scroll quickly from posts to posts. The objective of this campaign is to evoke a more emotional response from users with the use of animals native to the arctic regions. Using the animals to lure people in, the captions will feature statistics and information that will teach the users the dangers these animals face.

The Progress and Insight:

I decided on my issue through discussion in class and I felt most strongly for it. With very basic and simple designs, the pictures are easy on the eyes and the message is clear. While campaigning on bigger platforms, it will reach a bigger audience from the amount of people that use said programs.

Solution:

Using the new algorithms to my advantage, most people respond well to pictures that features animals so this would cause people to stop scrolling and to further view the posts. Furthermore, the text would become the secondary focus and would cause users who are interested to look up the topic.

Results:

This assignment helped me improve my skills in Illustrator and knowledge in designing. I was able to blend photography and design together to create a realistic campaign for this assignment. As the creator, I feel like I did justice to this issue because I showcased the animals and environment being affected. I was able to achieve this through a consistent and coherent colour scheme throughout the three platforms, except for Snapchat which was the only odd one out.

--

--

Karen Chung
Karen Chung
0 Followers
Editor for

Currently working on getting a Bachelor of Arts with a specialization in Digital Communications.