KAC #2 Catalyst Cafe and Coffee Roasters

Karina Chan
Karina Chan
Published in
4 min readApr 15, 2019
Cake Cake Cake

As you can probably tell by now, I am not about the 2 AM in the library skip two meals type of studying (at least not while abroad).

And I don’t think it’s JUST because I’m high maintenance. It’s also because being able to work in a calm, mental-health conscious manner where you don’t hate yourself is well… preferable?

An example: I work outside my own room at home because that way I get to separate my living and working spaces and don’t associate stress with where I should be relaxed.

That being said, Catalyst Coffee kind of obfuscates that line for me because it’s nice. Real nice.

Catalyst Cafe & Coffee Roasters

48 Grays Inn Road, Chancery Ln, London WC1X 8LT

Nearest Station: ~2 min walk from Chancery Lane Station (Central Line, Zone 1)
Price: ££ (not dirt cheap, but reasonable for the quality)
Wifi: Fast, password protected so you’re not selling your contact information and soul for wifi with those promotional forms
Space: ★★★☆☆
Outlets:★★★★
Coffee/Tea:★★★★
Food:★★★★★

These fruit-topped pancakes were everything. Highly recommend

Coffee, Wi-Fi, outlet space? Permissible, but this is spartan my friend.

Coffee, Wi-Fi, outlets, and pancakes with a banana drizzled with brown sugar and bourbon and then blow torched to a crème brûlée likeness? Now we’re talking. They also serve cocktails, if you’re into that while you work.

Not cheap, but also it’s real food that is both instagrammable AND tasty if you can believe that. So ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Tucked away in a district a bit northeast of Covent Garden, Catalyst Coffee is one of those rare gems: workable-cafes with substantive food beyond muffins and flapjacks (I will never get why the brits enjoy eating a glorified clump of oats, sorry). Menu is equipped with a range of savory and sweet dishes of varying levels of formality — cementing this place as a versatile cafe. Catch up with your brunch friends over some shakshuka or grab a toastie for a quick bite while you work. There’s something for every palate and every customer. Magnificent.

The expansive glass windows and glass wall bathed me in a light I didn’t know I could experience while working. The splashes of modern art along said glass wall adds cheerfulness to your otherwise insipid workweek. And of course, nothing screams “INDUSTRIAL URBAN CHIC MILLENNIAL THAT DREAMS IN RESTORATION HARDWARE” more than a partially exposed concrete wall. It’s a welcome reprieve from the windowless basement library at Georgetown where I eventually feel like one of those ugly benthic zone fishes after a few hours.

The staff are super friendly and love to get to know their customers. You really can’t ask for much more besides maybe a little more seating and table space but of course all good things are in high demand and ergo harder to get. This is a 4.5/5 stars from me.

Clearly a busy joint. A mix of people on their laptops, chatting away with friends, and solo enthusiasts.

I chose a stool and counter type seat near the window which is great for people watching. Rather limited table space, especially if you’re siphoning off table for some food too. Though if you’re only working on a laptop or only reading something, this is not too shabby. There are proper tables in the shop, but as you can imagine they’re quickly taken up.

They also have a little sink and water station so you can serve yourself tap water. I’ve noticed many cafes here do that though it’s much less common to see in the US and I appreciate it so much because I hate feeling like I’m wasting a barista’s time asking them to fill me a glass of water. It’s the little things that win me over.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the second installment of KAC! Let me know your thoughts/comments and if you liked it, throw a clap or two! Have you been to Catalyst? What did you think? If you liked this guide and want more like it, subscribe!

I’m always frustrated that there’s no good resource on evaluating the experience of an establishment through the perspective of a student/freelancer looking for some bomb carrot cake and table space. Ergo I decided to stop complaining and create one myself! Behold! The Condé Nast of Cafés, the Michellin Guide of Matcha Lattes: Karina Approved Cafés (KAC).

--

--

Karina Chan
Karina Chan

Fan of hot takes and the author of “Women in Venture Capital”