When the Odds are Two…

Karios
KariosNation | Life & Experiences
2 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

What are the odds? That's the question. The odds are that you will meet the love of your life at first sight, be born into wealth and a happy home, die in a vehicular accident or road mishap as some might call it, and be successful in the first business endeavor you’re involved in. We don't make the rules, we don't control the numbers or events. What happens when the odds don't align, and fate or destiny strikes the wheel toward the unthinkable conclusion that changes the course of our existence?

Why do the odds count? I have never been a fan of statistics or numbers, I am still learning its tricks but it is a tool that's a life hack or code gets us through our daily living in some form (I utterly wished otherwise). An odd is different, something unusual and out of the ordinary, positioning our lives on a journey we began from the first time we opened our eyes to the world and till we close them for the last time. It is given different names based on beliefs but cannot be mathematically proven to be an exception to the rule. To put your life to fate is to put it to chance and receive its outcomes with open arms.

Photo by Anubhav Saxena on Unsplash

Is it better to have had a good thing and lost it or never to have had it? Think about it. I cannot give you an answer because it is just my perception or bias. But I will say do not shy away from being the Odd in every event, situation, environment, and location cos in this life a breath of fresh air is an unseen angle not noticed at first glance. I will say YES to being Odd for one to be one is to be self-aware of our place in everything we do.

Putting my thoughts into words has always been a tool (shhhhh! It’s a secret); which I believe is one of the purposes of existence, as well as creating memories. I was reminded this week, yet again; and for a while that I have been on the bench for quite a time and this is me putting my foot in the door, I closed, attempting a go again!

Forget the title, It is an oxymoron.

Just trying to make sense of it all.

Karios

--

--

Karios
KariosNation | Life & Experiences

Lychnobite || Movie-Inspired || Critic || Introverted Aries || Lone Wolf || Editor:@KariosNation Writer:@applaudience @postgradsurvivr @WritingCoop TheAscentPub