‘What about me?’- Why ethnic representation in children’s media is imperative.

Zara Karlieva
Karlieva
Published in
7 min readJan 11, 2022

Why was seeing a character on the screen that looked like you a privilege?

High School Musical, THE mid-2000s Disney Channel classic. More notably, my favourite childhood film. Looking back as a young adult on the sheer connection that I used to have with the main female character, Gabriella Montez, recently evoked a tiny feeling of resentment. Growing up alongside the western media, I rarely saw Asian representation in my favourite TV shows.

Disney Channel, Nickelodeon, or Cartoon Network, regardless, I never really saw myself be phenotypically or culturally depicted through the characters in any kids program. This caused my 7-year-old self to latch onto and somehow relate to any female protagonist that resembled my features in the slightest. This is why I had a minor identity crisis later in life when I finally got hit with the realisation that I actually do NOT look exactly like Vanessa Hudgens and Selena Gomez… or any infamous Disney Channel star with dark hair and brown eyes. This rather unsolicited epiphany was the newsflash that I desperately needed. My former 7-year-old self would see a (fellow) ethnically ambiguous looking female actor on screen and immediately conclude that she and I are, in fact long lost sisters. Now that I am older, I actually don’t think I even liked the content of Gabriella Montez’ character in High School Musical. I secretly preferred the white, blonde, blue-eyed, visually contrasting ‘antagonist’ Sharpay Evans as a character. However, due to the lack of Asian role models in movies and TV shows, I would seek comfort in the character closely resembling my ethnic features or culture. Most, if not all of the time, the character/actress I closely associated myself with was either Latina, Arab, or mixed race. The content of the character’s personality did not matter to me. As long as they looked like me, I watched the TV show or movie with interest and ease. I would often find myself favouring non-white Disney princesses over white ones, particularly those I looked the most like, such as Mulan and Pocahontas. Though Mulan is East Asian, and I am not, regardless, I was glad to find comfort in and support an Asian character.

While I may not have paid much mind to the lack of ethnic portrayal in my favourite TV shows and movies growing up, it continues to affect me, likewise with many other young ethnic minorities. A feeling of disconnect with the media I consumed caused me to feel disconnected in aspects of the real world.

As mentioned before, the effects of the media can manifest directly into the life of the consumer. Particularly if the consumer is growing up surrounded by various entertainment mediums, like the majority of Generation Z. We use pop culture to construct our own identities. How can we do that confidently when the identities we form usually stem from under-representation and marginalisation? Growing to love and accept your ethnic features is a journey that is constantly challenged by the Eurocentric beauty ideal that plagues visual media. I rarely would see an actress be allowed to embrace her natural hair on screen. Thus I never saw my thick, frizzy, wavy hair confidently portrayed through the characters in my childhood shows. They always had their hair flat ironed stick straight or excessively heat styled. This resulted in me being deeply insecure about my hair for most of middle school because I thought it was not ‘pretty’ or ‘effortless’ enough. It was not illustrated to be a desirable or ‘beautiful’ feature to have through the seemingly aesthetically pleasing characters. I felt obliged to flat iron my hair straight or slick it back into a tight ponytail or bun any chance I could. I would beg to have my hair permanently chemically straightened at the age of 12 to fit the ‘standard’ version of beauty that surrounded me in real life and the world of media. While it may sound like an insignificant thing to be bothered by, my experiences mirror a lot of fellow ethnic minorities who grew up with the white-dominated media.

Kat Graham, a Black Jewish actress, most known for portraying Bonnie Bennett in The Vampire Diaries. (This show is considered a teen drama that appeals to a young demographic, from early teens to young adults.) Throughout her eight years on the show, Kat had to wear a wig and even straighten her naturally afro-textured hair every time for her role. In a Vogue Beauty Secrets video from 2020 entitled “Kat Graham’s Natural Hair Beauty Routine,” she talks about her hair journey. She says, “Most of the jobs that I had done as an actress, you know, they wanted a certain kind of look.” Essentially saying that the entertainment industry only accepts a specific type of hair to be represented through the character, regardless of race. The actress goes on to say, “The African afro texture is not something that Hollywood has ever necessarily embraced. So I hope that I, one day, can play a character that I actually look like” This raw statement is an accurate representation of the white-dominated media. Hollywood needs diversity as a western institution yet fails to appropriately represent ethnic features. Despite the younger generation becoming more and more ethnically mixed. The broadly favoured preference of certain hair textures and other Eurocentric based features needs to stop. It pushes a discriminatory narrative that impressionable young people will subconsciously consume and implement into their self-image.

Kat Graham’s character, Bonnie Bennet depicted in ‘The Vampire Diaries’

Mainstream ‘coming of age’ movies are particularly popular with the young audience. This genre of films has been exceedingly well approved through their quirky protagonists, amazing soundtrack, and engaging plot depicting the transition of childhood to young adulthood. Some of Hollywood’s most well-known and popular coming of age films are The Breakfast Club, The Edge of Seventeen, and Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Ladybird (to name a few). However, all of these films feature a predominately white cast. Of course, this also means that the genre’s archetypal, complex and charming protagonist is also white. While I still enjoy these movies, I can’t help but notice the lack of diversity. Non-white characters almost always take the form of either the protagonist’s best friend whose personal stories are rarely featured or the largely insignificant side character. That being said, the majority of western coming of age films centre around the ‘white teenage experience’ of the naive protagonist who steers their way through high school all in the seemingly regular suburbs of America. As much as Hollywood wishes everybody could all relate to this white suburbia fantasy, this textbook portrayal tends to exclude the varying young ethnic demographics that may have had different adolescent experiences.

Coming of age film: Ladybird (2018)

Having recently watched Disney’s latest production, Encanto, which was recently released in late November of this year. I, and many other people, were very pleased with the diversity and morals that the characters provided. The animation is set in Columbia. The family depicted in this Disney masterpiece have various physical attributes representing and celebrating indigenous and ethnic Colombian diversity. Latino actors of strong Colombian descent are the voices behind all the main characters. The storyline itself resonated deeply with ethnic families and individuals, particularly those of South American descent.

Characters depicted in Disney’s latest animation- Encanto

For the past decade, Disney has released movies with seven non-white female heroines, Jasmine (Arabian), Pocahontas (Native American), Mulan (Chinese), Tiana (African American), Moana (Polynesian), Raya (Southeast Asian), and Mirabel (Colombian) from Encanto being the latest. I can confidently say that these ethnic female protagonists all serve as fantastic role models. They reflect many values and experiences commonly shared between ethnic cultures worldwide. Important values such as family, honour, and tradition. Experiences such as the longing to break from family expectations, following your heart, and the desire to make your family proud as you find your personal individuality, all while still retaining your cultural identity.

Disney’s Pocahontas, Jasmine, and Mulan

Ethnic representation in children’s media is essential for eliminating harmful stereotypes, ignorance, and negative perceptions regarding minorities—all in efforts to boost and develop inclusivity, acceptance, and confidence in our growingly diverse world. The disproportion of ethnic representation in mainstream media for the younger generation is shown through the frustration that ethnic minorities have expressed for decades. However, this disproportion is due to hopefully decrease in the coming years through the journey to increased on-screen diversity.

Thanks for reading this article! Make sure to comment your thoughts and questions. Please make sure to follow Karlieva to explore more articles on women’s success stories in all areas of life!

To support us in creating quality and meaningful multimedia you can donate to our PayPal

Feel free to follow our other social media:

Instagram

Facebook

Youtube

--

--

Zara Karlieva
Karlieva
Writer for

Compelling writing focused on pop culture, feminism, and all things contemporary.