Hong
Karmic Bikes
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2015

--

I’m a car guy. I’ve been one for decades. I still have fond memories of learning to drive an old F-150 4-speed manual on the farm, years before I could even get my license. When I finally saved up enough to get a car of my own, it was a Nissan. I’ve owned a handful of Nissan’s since then. The Electron Blue color of the Karmic Koben was inspired by the Bayside Blue of the Nissan Skyline.

I just watched an episode of Jay Leno’s Garage about the Nissan GT-R LM NISMO. It’s a highly unconventional front-engined, front-wheel drive race car. Possibly the first one in racing’s modern era. The laws of physics dictate a mid-engine layout for the best balance and handling dynamics. But an intelligent re-read of the rulebooks gave Nissan an opportunity to challenge the all-conquering Audi LMP behemoth, with a car designed to optimize aerodynamics and efficiency. I wish the NISMO boys luck at taking out Goliath, with their little FWD pebble. It’s been 24 years since Mazda won.

The Mazda Miata is the world’s best-selling sports car. Introduced 25 years ago, it’s had a legendary run that continues with the introduction of the 2016 model. Yesterday the press embargo was lifted and we were given test drive impressions from the automotive media. One, after, the other, they fawned over the new Miata (nee MX-5). Every writer and journo seemed to fall in love with the iconic Roadster again. I’m tempted to buy one myself.

While most ebike startups are claiming to be the Tesla of bicycles, we don’t make those comparisons. Instead of making a high-end ebike and charging $5000, $6000 or even $7000 for it, we’d rather make a really great bike more people can afford. Of course there are cheaper ebikes on the market, but they aren’t great bikes. The world doesn’t need more terrible bicycles. We are going to make the Miata of ebikes. This is just the first Koben.

Both Nissan and Mazda are considered to be second tier manufacturers. Toyota, GM, and Volkswagen sell millions more family sedans and offer a broader line-up of products. But their cars aren’t ground-breaking, they don’t excite, and they don’t inspire us. They’re mostly boring metal boxes.

So why is it that the most innovative race car, and the most pure sports car both come from underdogs?

Because only the underdog has to fight for survival.

--

--

Hong
Karmic Bikes

Founder of @KarmicBikes. Former Mentor at @500Startups and Thiel Foundation’s @20Under20. I’ve hired a lot of people.