Need Joy?

Kathy Randall Bryant
KathyRandallBryant
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2016

“Anyone getting another cup of coffee?”

“Well, I’ve already had two, so I don’t need it.”

“Ok, just make eight cups.”

“But. … Well… I might want another…”

“Better make it ten.”

“Kathy had filter through her thoughts to discern the difference between want and need.”

That was the scene yesterday morning. Did I need another cup of coffee? Well… not so much. But did I want it? It turns out, yes. Yes indeed. It was a good call.

Most decisions that I make are based on want. I have generally all the material things that I need. But surely I want much more. I could write about minimalism and the benefits of an uncluttered life… but I wrote this on my birthday. And so I got things that I am happy about. I may not have necessarily needed any of them. But, now that I have them, they each have something that brings me joy.

Joy now. Joy is something that I always need.

When Joy is in spare supply, life is dreary. Simple and mundane tasks become onerous chores. The To-Do list never slims down. Conversations are short and patience is shorter. I’m weary when my joy is limited.

But when Joy is abundant, everything changes. Energy blossoms. Creativity blooms. Tasks are conquerable. Complex work is accomplished. And I have energy to spare.

I can’t really schedule it, when Joy is overflowing or when it is sparing. But there are things I can do, I can place in my life that bring me joy. For instance, I love wearing scarves, and so when I pick one out, I am thinking about where it came from, conversations that I have had because of them, and ways that I have been changed because of them. They are simple pieces of cloth. I don’t really need them most of the time unless it is winter. But they bring me joy.

I look for other things like my scarves to bring me joy when I need it. When I have joy, I need to share it with others, and it grows. Thank you for making my life more filled with joy.

--

--

Kathy Randall Bryant
KathyRandallBryant

adventurous reader, curious narrator, theological apprentice, united methodist pastor, inventive cook, unsatisfied writer, learning mother.