Katsuhi Social 2017

Edith Puclla
Katsuhi Social
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2019

The first time that I did the Katsuhi Social Program (Pilot Plan) was in August 2017 in the city where I born Ayacucho Peru, It was one of the happiest days of my life. Why? Let me tell you…

Are you wondering what is Katsuhi Social?

Katsuhi Social is an initiative to promote reading as a recreational activity in children with limited economic resources, it aims to encourage critical thinking, reading comprehension and encourage values, including companionship, mutual help, and empathy. While this project is initially aimed at children, who wants to participate is more than welcome, age is not an impediment

Before this I wrote a basic and light structure that would allow me to execute in a short timeframe something I had imagined doing already for many years, the day finally arrived Wuhu!

You can find a guide that I did with the necessary to do this activity, feel free to use it if you want to replicate it in your community, You don’t need much money to do it, using the resources you have, and each time can be better. It sounds good!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9woLMQ_zSSpaHBRWFNaVEwwVG8/view?usp=sharing
See guide HERE!

Then I gathered materials second hand that did not cost much and repaired them. you can write to me to give you advice on how to buy the books :)

The books were great, I bought several having as uncertainty the ages of the children who would be encouraged to participate.

Each book I acquired was special, I carefully reviewed each sheet to prevent children from getting lost by missing a sheet of the book.

I share some photos of the first event, children with interest and desire to read and share.

It is necessary to be with them to assist them with new vocabulary or assist them with their questions. Yes, If doing this is a lot of fun!

It was a pilot project with eight children who voluntarily wanted to participate and were curious. This project excites me a lot, and I consider one of my growing babies, I would like to replicate it in many places and do it more frequently, children love it and me too!

I write this post a little late, in order not to lose the experience and continue with this project.

Thanks for reading! :)

--

--

Edith Puclla
Katsuhi Social

Software Engineer at 42 Silicon Valley | Computer addict | Container Enthusiast, interested in DevOps, Cloud, ML, and IoT.