KAYA CLIMBER STORIES

Joe’s Valley Heroes: Kyram Adsit

Joe’s Valley Bouldering Guidebook

KAYA
KAYA Guides

--

In celebration of KAYA’s launch of Steven Jeffery’s Official Joe’s Valley Guidebook, we’re highlighting the legends that have contributed to the development of Joe’s Valley bouldering.

Photo by Jon Vickers

You may not have heard of Kyram before, but he is one of Utah’s most influential developers. Having established many dozens of high-quality boulder problems (and even a route or two) in Joe’s Valley, the high Uintas, and Ibex, Kyram’s priority is the aesthetics, quality, and longevity of the problems he devotes time to. As the head routesetter at the Salt Lake Bouldering Project in downtown Salt Lake City, Kyram further gives back to the community and hones his movement skills and understanding of climbing. We are stoked to share his perspective in this interview:

KAYA: Where are you from, Kyram?

Kyram Adsit: I grew up in Utah County, and started climbing down there around 2011. One of the first places I ever climbed was Hobble Creek Canyon in Springville, Utah.

KAYA: What does your personal climbing history with Joe’s look like?

Kyram Adsit: My first trip out to Joe’s was in 2012 and it felt like exploring the wild west. After a few visits I was looking through an old climbing magazine and saw a picture of Anthony Chertudi on a climb called Zero (V12) which he’d recently established in Joe’s. I was inspired and felt like I had to try any climb in Joe’s that I thought was beautiful like that. After climbing many established boulders, I started venturing off trail and looking at different lines on popular boulders. What I found were hidden gems and lines waiting to be climbed.

Kyram attempting Zero (V12) in 2015, years before he sent the problem.

KAYA: Yeah, Zero seems to have sparked inspiration in many Joe’s developers. Pete Lowe shared a similar experience in his essay. Beginning in the early to mid-90s, Joe’s Valley had a really active period of development from the likes of Boone Speed, Steven Jeffery, Jason Kehl, Anthony Chertudi, and Pete Lowe, among others. You seem to have picked up where they left off and are carrying the torch for next-gen boulders — what did you take from their efforts and what do you bring to the table as both a routesetter and younger climber?

Kyram Adsit: As I climbed around on the established lines in Joe’s I noticed that many of the lines I had thought were most inspiring were all found and FA’d by the same few people. These climbers set a standard for what “worth the hike” meant and what a sustainable landing looked like. They set the standard for what a highball looked like (without Mondos).

As a routesetter, I feel tied to my climbing community. Making meaningful contributions to a place that has taught me so much about life and personal happiness brings me a sense of fulfillment.

Kyram holding the rip on Black Dahlia (V10). Photo by Three Peaks Films

KAYA: What inspires you so much about Joe’s Valley in particular?

Kyram Adsit: For me, it’s a combination of the landscape, striking stone, and adventurous hikes.

KAYA: What are you searching for when you go exploring for new boulders in Joe’s?

Kyram Adsit: I seek out the tallest boulders within eyesight, black rock, steep angles, and landing resources if it needs a landing (logs, large rocks). I’m looking for those “Forever Boulders.” Unfortunately, there aren’t many in Joe’s.

Kyram on the FA of N.W.S. (V12/13)

KAYA: How much do you think is left to be developed in Joe’s? Where does the most potential hide? Left Fork? Right Fork? New Joe’s? Elsewhere?

Kyram Adsit: Left Fork has the most potential boulder problems. There is more than a lifetime left to be developed. There are so many canyons to hike through and not enough motivated people.

Kyram working a project high in Left Fork

KAYA: Despite your Instagram handle being @climbjoesvalley, you are a pretty under-the-radar developer. Is it a personal choice to not be super vocal about your development and to be private on social media?

Kyram Adsit: I lay low because I only care about climbing beautiful boulders.

KAYA: What are some beautiful developed problems you still have left to climb in Joe’s Valley that you’re excited about?

Kyram styling the famous false-grip move on Blackout (V13)

Kyram Adsit: The Last Great One (V13), Fadeaway (V14), Masterpiece (V12/13) are high on the list. There are also a few relatively new areas that I haven’t been able to climb at yet such as The Wash. I’m excited to go check those out sometime soon.

KAYA: Which donut is your favorite from Orangeville’s beloved grocery store, the Food Ranch?

Kyram Adsit: Butterfinger. Not even a debate

KAYA: What advice would you give to climbers traveling to Joe’s Valley for the first time?

Kyram Adsit: Be respectful to locals, and the rock.

KAYA: What’s your proudest achievement in Joe’s? In climbing?

Kyram Adsit: I think my proudest climbing achievement hasn’t happened yet, I have a few cool projects I’ve been putting a lot of work into the last couple of years. Although, by far, my proudest achievement in Joe’s was asking Tatum Lee to be my wife at the base of the Angler.

The FA of Devil’s Demon in Ibex, Utah

KAYA: That’s cute, we love love. What’s next for you and your climbing?

Kyram Adsit: For me, more Joe’s Valley climbing. I have a few projects that I've been putting a lot of work into for the past few years. Hopefully, I’ll wrap up the work on those and send. I’m also really excited about setting at the Salt Lake Bouldering Project and setting for more events in general.

KAYA: Awesome, good luck, we’re sure you’ll smash them! Anything else you want to add?

Kyram Adsit: Drink water, and go explore!

Kyram selected some of his favorite Joe’s Valley First Ascents. Check ’em out!!

Kyram Adsit’s Top 5 FAs in Joe’s Valley:

5. Heartless V6, Left Fork

4.7*, 4 ascents, 5 beta videos on KAYA

“This problem was named after me.”

4. Flight of the Reaper V10, Left Fork

1 beta video on KAYA

“Spooky boulders deserve spooky names. This one is still waiting for a second ascent!”

3. NWS V12/13, Left Fork

1 beta video on KAYA

“Named after Scott Adamson and his motto, NWS = “No Weak Shit.”

2. Built Like a Goddess V9, The Farside

5*, 1 ascents, 1 beta video on KAYA

“Named after my wife, DUH!”

1. Return on Investment V9, The Farside

5*, 1 ascent, 2 beta videos on KAYA

“Cashed in on a memory.”

Kyram, thank you for all the boulder problems and the great chat!! Keep it up.

--

--