Epilogue: Goodbye!

Andre J. Wang
KCL-LLM
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2021

Today was my last day in London. What a year it has been!

In so many ways it was both better and worse than I expected. My biggest (and probably only) regret is that I didn’t get to attend in-person classes. But when placed in perspective, I had an amazing LLM year.

A frequently asked question is whether or not I would have chosen to attend King’s LLM during a pandemic with the knowledge I have now. My answer is: yes, absolutely!

Many many factors shape an LLM year; and teaching (albeit important) is just a minor one timewise (around 10h per week). Apart from teaching, these were the most important factors that shaped my LLM year.

The King’s factor

King’s buildings were open during the entire year for so-called informal study — even during lockdowns. A lot of LLM students met each other on campus while studying. It was a way to escape the most depressing months of the pandemic. I remember being able to meet people (masked and socially-distanced) when this was legally questionable off-campus.

The opportunities offered at King’s were more interesting than what was offered during my LLB (see my previous post).

The London factor

London was the best place to be during the pandemic. When all entertainment venues were shut, I could take a walk through London and it would never be boring. At some point I even walked from Primrose Hill to the Shard. London has a surprising balance of green spaces and interesting architecture.

When stuff opened up, I went to see a play starring Emma Corrin in London’s West End and Jonas Blue playing a set at Ministry of Sound. Daytrips to Oxford and Bath are also highlights.

The people factor

The people on King’s LLM make it special. Everyone I met was passionate about their field and fun to be around. The international financial law pathway even managed to squeeze in a pathway social before the end of the LLM.

Generally, King’s students are incredibly sociable. It was an incredible experience to have lived in King’s postgrad residence. I feel I became closer with many of my friends than I would have in a normal year. It was truly heartbreaking to say goodbye.

Goodbye

To finish my blog, I want to express how grateful I am to have attended King’s LLM. It was a privilege to have lived in London, especially during the pandemic. I feel fortunate to have met so many amazing people.

I also thank you, my dear readers, for following me on my journey. I wish you all the very best. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

Finally, I thank the LLM Guide team for taking a chance on my blogging skills and for the editorial freedom. It’s been a pleasure writing for this tremendously useful website.

This blog is featured on LLM-GUIDE.com, a comprehensive and up-to-date directory of LLM programs worldwide.

--

--

Andre J. Wang
KCL-LLM
Editor for

LLB Graduate. LLM Student. Contemporary Art Collector.