LLM? Check! What’s next?

Andre J. Wang
KCL-LLM
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2021

I got my exam results back a few weeks ago (I passed every module, yay) and I just finished my practice project (which was actually a lot of fun!). It’s a good time to look at what’s coming next year.

A major reason for me to attend the LLM this year was Brexit. Even with the negative prospects of the pandemic this was the rational choice. Tuition fees would have been much more expensive if I waited an extra year.

However, this meant that I came to London with only my LLB. To qualify as a lawyer in the Netherlands, I need a Dutch LLM. So, that’s what I’ll be doing next year. I’m attending the LLM (with a specialization in private/commercial law) at the University of Amsterdam.

The benefit of having done the LLM here at King’s first is that I have a better idea what modules will be useful to take in Amsterdam. For example, insolvency law will be more useful than tort law.

I’m also going to do an internship in financial law and capital markets at a Dutch law firm I’m very excited about. I would say that King’s LLM definitely helped me to stand out and to have an interesting interview.

In contrast, most international students I met on the LLM already had a master’s degree. There are even quite a number of qualified lawyers on the LLM. My estimate is that most international students are returning to their home jurisdiction either to qualify or to take up a new position. There are also LLMs edging towards government, public service, or regulation.

I don’t know a lot of international students that want to qualify here. But if you’re interested in qualifying as a solicitor in England, do some research about the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE), which will be introduced in September 2021.

Most students who want to qualify in London apply for vacation schemes at law firms, who then might offer training contracts. Just bear in mind that the process is very competitive, even for UK students.

If you this is your plan, I recommend getting in touch with King’s Careers & Employability ASAP after you join King’s. They have a dedicated team and resources for law students (including international LLMs).

This blog is featured on LLM-GUIDE.com, a comprehensive and up-to-date directory of LLM programs worldwide.

--

--

Andre J. Wang
KCL-LLM
Editor for

LLB Graduate. LLM Student. Contemporary Art Collector.