Hunger

Kedar Popade
Kedar’s Stuff
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2018

Last month I was in Mumbai, I had to wait at station for an hour for journey. So I went to canteen at LTT station. While having snacks I was observing people around me. It was an early Sunday morning, Not much crowded compered to CST. Cleaning of station was in progress , Canteen workers were organizing trays and putting foods in it from kitchen. A family was going to one day trip to somewhere, youngest child was wandering all station with his marathon speed with another child on station both were lost in their marathon. And here we two just sitting with our smartphones waiting to time pass as soon as possible.

And Then a middle age man entered .His clothes were not washed but some what clean, and he had strong muscles. He went to basin, washed face. And came to counter and ordered a single Vada and 4 Pav. May be he is regular customer. Canteen owner gave it without hesitating or stammering. He took it and added loads of chutney with it. Landed at corner seat which was next to us. I was astonished by his buying skills. These are some life hacks you learn with great experience.He didn’t have sad face or anxiety look. He looked so calm and enjoyed his breakfast. I was excited to talk with him because he is the real Guru for your spending skills. And again my mind palace interrupted, let him enjoy his snacks. Don’t spoil someones morning. Then I was trying to guess his job. May be he is sweeper at station, guard at some place , or street vendor. I got my answer when some people accompanied him. He welcomed them with smile. They were all Coolie at station. They had then some funny conversation , I was more curious about his life. He may be away from his family, or all alone in this world. But it doesn’t matter because he is having good life at this time.And here both of us can’t pass an hour without looking every five minute at phone screen. Such people deserve appreciation they are real life heroes who fight life.

Some blogger on medium has written that Work is just part of life, not the whole thing and then I am here thinking about this uncle whose life has become his work.

--

--

Kedar Popade
Kedar’s Stuff

student | chatty | techie | crazy speaker | reader | silly writer | Too lazy to update bio