I’m Transgender. Here’s Why Transgender Folks Don’t Transition

--

Socially, transgender and non-binary folks transition because they want to socially align with who they are. Legally, it’s just reality that such folks had one name and gender legally and now have a different name and gender legally. And it’s reality that a medical transition happens.

But internally, many and probably most of us don’t transition.

And I don’t speak in the vein of Republican rhetoric that tries to explain why.

Rather, transgender folks like me and non-binary people have either always known or realized our gender and who we are. And when we do things like gender-affirming care, this is a realization regarding gender in another way.

How about “realizing,” “realization,” etc., rather than “transitioning,” “transition,” etc., respectively?

(A depiction of self-realization (photo credit: TheMindFool))

If you didn’t always know your gender, gender journeys are profound journeys. (As I’m sure having always known is profound, too.)

In my case, I realized I am a woman. And that means that I never was male. (I’ve long not liked being referred to as a dude.) I couldn’t have transitioned from a place I never was at. (As no one can.)

I started meeting with a therapist over gender dysphoria. (After having a remarkable one in even rural Utah, Kory…

--

--

Alysha V. Scarlett
Keep Fighting: The Power of Resilience

Alysha's won 13 writing awards. Formerly of B/R, Screen Rant, Patch. Author, “Re-finding Yourself in the Age of Trump.” “Big-city cousin.” --rural, rival paper