Luke Blackburn
Personal Growth
Published in
7 min readFeb 4, 2016

--

“The best way I can explain it, is that you are so drained mentally and emotionally that you don’t even have enough will to open your laptop.”

I spoke these words to a close friend in 2014 when I was finally recovering from a deep battle with burnout. He worked in manufacturing and loved it. But he didn’t know what I was talking about.

“So you mean you’re really stressed out?” he asked. “So can’t you just take a vacation and relax to get it to go away?”

I responded, “Man, I wish it were like that. This is something so deep that I never thought I could experience.”

Burning Stress?

Stress is something we all know. Even children experience stress and stressful situations. In order to explain burnout, we have to start at stress.

Not always, but often times burnout follows extended periods of intense stress. For me it certainly did. I was about 9-months removed from quitting my safe corporate job in the US and moving to Chile to work at a startup that hosted immersive learning experiences.

Every day was stressful because, not only were we facilitating the programs and helping 30 participants, but we were also selling future programs in tandem. Not to mention, there were random problems to solve and money/survival worries of a young startup.

But see, stress is more about having “too much.” You have pressures and responsibilities that require too much of you mentally and physically. While you are experiencing it, you are still able to find motivation and drive to complete tasks. Even those who seem to have it all can never fully avoid stress.

I had gotten to a point where even simple tasks seemed like mountains to climb. I’m talking about things that were normally routine for me. Gradually, they became harder and harder to finish. Eventually, they became difficult to even start.

Burnout is a battle with “not enough.”

When I was burned out, I felt empty and devoid of positive meaning. I found it hard to care about the tasks that I needed to accomplish and that my team was counting on me to accomplish.

In the past, burnout has been called emotional exhaustion. I think that’s fair to say. If you experience it, it’s difficult to find hope that change will take place. I was trying everything to overcome, but it was like quicksand. The more I worked to fix it, the deeper I sank.

One of the most dangerous parts of burnout compared to stress is that you don’t always notice when it happens. With stress, it’s much more likely you notice it and can take steps to reduce or fix it. Whereas burnout creeps up on you like a full stomach after a tasty meal.

Yosemite Sam Moment

I knew that I was stressed, but I thought I could handle it. I held high stress jobs in the past and it was never a problem. But honestly, nothing can really compare you for entrepreneurial life.

Plus, I’m an introverted person that likes to keep problems to myself. This is where I really screwed up. I remember thinking to myself one day before it got really bad that I should talk to someone about it. I said to myself, “Well, if it gets worse than this, I will.”

It did get worse, and unfortunately, because I had drawn my line past the edge of the cliff, I fell.

Powerful Proactive Points

Since my recovery from burnout, I have implemented a few changes in my daily life that I think would work for everyone in helping to keep from falling off the cliff-

1. Create and follow a relaxing ritual to start the day

Most of us hit the snooze button a few times, check emails, texts, and newsfeed updates before we ever get out of bed to start the day. If one of those messages is negative, it produces anxiety before you have even really awoken.

Create a calming morning ritual that fuels you for the tasks of the day. This could be reading inspiring words, listening to music, praying, or meditating. Only after you have completed this ritual should you start checking emails and messages.

2. Set boundaries for yourself and your commitments

One of the things I was doing that exposed me to extra stress was I didn’t say “no” enough. The time I needed to be by myself and process the events of the day, went to other less important things. It caused me to get out of balance.

If you write checks that your body cannot cash, you will surely be on your way to more stress and possibly burnout. Don’t overextend yourself or your time. Learn to say “no” and accept that you are not required to do everything you are invited or asked to do.

3. Have fun / Do something you enjoy

We all need time to enjoy and have fun. Entrepreneurship is about making sacrifices, but you have to do it responsibly. We are not machines made to be worked every hour of the day.

You are not some sort of hero if you do. You’re actually being foolish. Spend at least 30–60 minutes per day doing activities that you enjoy. This might be going for a walk, talking with a close friend, cooking, watching a tv show, or reading.

4. Adopt a healthier lifestyle of diet, exercise, and sleeping habits

Each person is different and their bodies require different amounts of food, exercise, and sleeping hours. But when you eat healthy foods, perform regular physical activity, and get 7–8 hours of sleep, you have the energy and determination to deal with life’s challenges.

I stopped working out in the months prior to my episode. I feel this had a huge negative impact on my well-being.

5. Take a break from technology

Go outside!

{see video explanation}

Recovering and Getting Back Up

The above points are to prevent burnout. But if you are currently experiencing it, here are the things that helped me recover -

1. Take your time and slow down

I wish I had a better answer for you, but I honestly think you just need time. Kind of like a bad breakup, only time will really heal you.

If you have reached burnout, changing your health habits, or creating rituals will not solve the problem. You must force yourself to take personal time to yourself for resting, relaxation, and reflection.

2. Change your environment

One of my best friends, Fabricio Tozzi, came to Chile and basically dragged me to Brazil (SEE! I was pretty bad if I was fighting going to Brazil!) to get away and relax. Simply by changing my context and physical space, I felt a positive change.

I’m convinced if he had not done this, I would not have lasted much longer in Chile and would have gone back to the US.

Thanks, Fabi.

3. Lean on your support network

When you’re burned out, you think that being alone is the best way to relax and heal. But actually, in times of burnout, your support network of close friends and family are more important than ever. Don’t be afraid to ask them for help, even if it’s just a phone call or an invitation to spend time together. They love you and want to help.

4. Rediscover your sense of awe

If you have gotten to this point, it is a clear indication that a major portion of your life is out of alignment. You must take time to re-identify your goals, aspirations, and desires for your life. You could be neglecting something that is immensely important to you.

A small silver lining is that this gives you the time to reevaluate and discover a new path that is more aligned with your true calling.

Onward & Upward

I would not wish burnout upon my worst enemy. It is destructive and takes significant time from which to recover. If you are working in a high stress environment like a startup, it’s prudent to take steps to make sure you are living a lifestyle that produces healthy outcomes. We all think we are untouchable until we get punched in the face.

If you have fallen off the cliff, I encourage you to accept the reality of the situation and take it seriously. Time is your ally. Use it and evaluate your past, present, and future. Perhaps you are on the wrong path and now is the time to correct it. Who knows, for some, burnout may be a blessing in disguise.

If anyone else has recommendations for preventing or overcoming burnout, I invite you to share in the comments.

Good things to come,

Luke

P.S. If you enjoyed the article, please like and share so others can also know about this sneaky and destructive thing called burnout.

Thanks to Hoss Layne for editing.

--

--