How A Smile Changed My Life

Cammi Pham
The Unlearner
Published in
3 min readDec 29, 2015

--

BY CAMMI PHAM — First appeared on my personal blog

I was born in a third world country, Vietnam. My family was once influential and wealthy, but war changed our fortunes.

Still, I was fortunate

My entrepreneurial parents built successful businesses, providing me with a life of privilege while millions around us struggled.

Life was good until the day my father was framed for a crime he didn’t commit.

When you have everything, your friends know who you are.

When you have nothing, you know who your friends are.

We lost our business, our comfortable lifestyle, and most painfully, our social circle. The same people who once eagerly sought our help now couldn’t be bothered to return our calls.

My mother decided it was time for a fresh start. We left Vietnam with nothing, hoping to rebuild our lives in Canada.

In Vietnam, everyone thinks North America is heaven, but sadly in reality, it’s often the opposite.

Starting a life in a new country is hard, but starting a new life with nothing is much harder.

--

--

Cammi Pham
The Unlearner

Unlearner. Marketer. Partner @ Growth + eCommerce Marketing Agency @ThinkRenegade | Subcribe to get new posts >> https://www.dailyunlearner.com