A horror fiction

Trapped inside my body — Unable to move!

5 symptoms you’re experiencing sleep paralysis!!

Abdul Arham
Keeping it spooky
Published in
6 min readApr 6, 2023

--

A shadow with the weight of 1000 kg

I am Zain, and I’ve always been a light sleeper, but on this particular night, my restlessness turned into something far more terrifying. As I lay in bed, my mind drifted off to a restless sleep. Suddenly, I felt an eerie presence in the room with me. It was as if someone, or something, was watching me. I tried to move, but I found myself completely paralyzed. My heart raced as I struggled to breathe. That’s when I felt it — something climbing on top of me, its weight crushing down on my chest.

I couldn’t see what it was, but I could feel its cold breath on my face. The pressure on my chest made it almost impossible to take a deep breath, and my lungs felt like they were being squeezed. Panic set in, and I tried to scream, but no sound escaped my lips.

Then, I felt the pressure shift, and I was aware of something else. Something was stroking my legs and creeping closer to my private area. It felt like fingers, but there was no one there. It was like a ghost, a shadowy figure that was toying with me.

The terror was overwhelming. I was trapped, completely at the mercy of this invisible force. All I could do was lie there, helpless and defenseless, while the entity toyed with me. The feeling of its icy breath on my face and its weight on my chest was suffocating.

Finally, after what felt like an eternity, the pressure lifted, and the figure vanished into the darkness. I gasped for breath, tears streaming down my face, and prayed that it was over. The experience left me shaken and terrified, and I knew that I would never forget it.

The next morning, I tried to brush off the experience as a nightmare. But the feeling of the entity’s weight on my chest and its icy breath on my face lingered, haunting me throughout the day. I couldn’t shake the feeling that I am being watched and stays the same for many days , that the entity was still there, waiting for him to fall asleep so it could return.

Sleep paralysis is a terrifying phenomenon that can leave even the bravest of souls shaking in fear. Imagine waking up in the middle of the night, feeling completely paralyzed and unable to move, while an unseen force seems to be pressing down on your chest. You try to scream, but your voice is silenced. You try to move, but your limbs refuse to respond. The only thing you can do is lay there, helpless and at the mercy of whatever is causing this terrifying experience.

Many people who have experienced sleep paralysis report vivid and horrifying hallucinations during their episodes. Some claim to have seen dark figures looming over them, while others have felt as though they were being suffocated by an invisible force. These hallucinations can be so vivid and realistic that it can be difficult to distinguish them from reality.

But wait what if you may also be experiencing its symptoms?

Here are five common symptoms that someone might experience during sleep paralysis:

1) Inability to move:

One of the most defining symptoms of sleep paralysis is the feeling of being completely paralyzed, unable to move any part of the body despite the desire to do so.

2) Hallucinations:

Many people with sleep paralysis experience vivid and often terrifying hallucinations, which can include seeing, hearing, or feeling things that are not actually there. These hallucinations may be difficult to distinguish from reality and can cause intense fear and anxiety.

3) Pressure on the chest:

Some people with sleep paralysis report feeling a heavy weight on their chest or having difficulty breathing, which can be a frightening experience.

4) Sensation of falling or floating:

You may experience a sensation of falling or floating, which can be accompanied by feelings of dizziness or disorientation.

5)Fear and anxiety:

The experience of sleep paralysis can be incredibly frightening and can lead to intense feelings of fear and anxiety, both during and after the episode. Some people may experience recurrent episodes of sleep paralysis, which can lead to chronic anxiety and sleep disturbances.

How can you stop it?

Well, there is no guaranteed way to completely stop sleep paralysis from occurring, but there are several strategies that may help reduce the frequency or severity of episodes:

1) Improve sleep hygiene:

Practicing good sleep habits, such as maintaining a consistent sleep schedule, avoiding caffeine and alcohol before bed, and creating a relaxing bedtime routine, can help promote healthy sleep and reduce the likelihood of experiencing sleep paralysis.

2) Manage stress:

High levels of stress and anxiety can contribute to sleep paralysis, so finding ways to manage stress, such as through mindfulness meditation, deep breathing exercises, or therapy, may help reduce the frequency of episodes.

3) Avoid sleeping on your back:

Sleeping on your back is thought to increase the likelihood of experiencing sleep paralysis, so sleeping on your side or stomach may help reduce the risk of an episode.

But before we say goodbye!

Here’s the tip from someone who has been experiencing sleep paralysis for almost 8 to 9 years now.

I have found that remaining calm and not trying to fight the experience is the best approach.

Just say NO :)

When I first started experiencing these episodes, my instinct was to try to move or scream, which only made the experience more intense and frightening. However, with time and experience, I discovered that by not moving and simply allowing the episode to unfold, it would usually pass within a matter of seconds.

It can be difficult to resist the urge to struggle against the paralysis, but I have found that trying to relax and focus on my breathing can help me stay calm and minimize the fear and anxiety that often accompany sleep paralysis. By accepting that the episode is happening and not trying to fight it, I am able to pass through it more easily and with less distress.

--

--