6 Ways to Side Hustle to Happiness

Annie Jooj
Keeping Stock
Published in
2 min readNov 29, 2016

‘Tis the season of giving, which also makes it the season of spending. If you are like me, you feel an underlying pressure to get the ‘perfect’ gift for each person on your list. And often times, that perfect gift can come with a hefty price tag.

So, this year, I am resolving to quit complaining about not making enough money by making more money.

If your department is low on funds and a promotion is not in your immediate future, but you would like some immediate cash…check out my list below of simple side hustles to keep your holiday plans afloat.

Get Cash, Not Debt

  1. Sell your stuff. I know that I have a couple of Dooney & Bourke bags from 2009 that could turn into a new pair of shoes for me or my sister. Ebay. Craigslist. Poshmark. Do your thing.
  2. Part time work. In the beginning of the year, I had a serving job after work which netted me an extra $200 a week to pay off my new car. You can also try the part time section on Craigslist or use some of your talents to freelance on Upwork.
  3. Watch baby humans. If sticky fingers don’t repulse you, try your neighbors or Care.com. I used to babysit for the sweetest family from Care and they taught me how to buy electronics off Craigslist and re-purpose them. Double win.
  4. Watch puppies. If you prefer animals over humans, watch your neighbors dogs when they go out of town. No friends or neighbors? Try Rover.
  5. Rent out a room. Extra space can equal extra cash. My senior year of college I did not have any loans because I convinced my dad to let me rent out his extra house on Airbnb for a hefty commission. Get creative.
  6. Drive Uber or Lyft. If you have a nice car, let it pay for itself.

There are tons of side hustles that can net some serious profits. Check out this post for more ideas.

Happy Hustling!

--

--

Annie Jooj
Keeping Stock

Perpetual list-maker. Avocado lover. Product Manager.