Christmas Time

Carlos Gonell
KeepIt112
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2019

There is a special time in the year that I love the most, a special time for many people. Many of us anxiously await the whole year for it, that time is Christmas. Since I was a child, I remember how wonderful Christmas time was. Every country has different ways to celebrate this amazing time, but at the end it’s one celebration, “The birth of the baby Jesus.” During Christmas time, families get together for dinner, to exchanges gifts, to share their experiences during the year and the plans for next year, etc. We cannot talk about Christmas without mentioning: Christmas decorations, Christmas music and Christmas food.

Christmas decorations is one of my favorite things from Christmas. When I was a kid, every time it was time to put and adorn the Christmas tree in the house, I always was there to help to do it. Something that I keep doing now. Not only you have new decoration in your home, but also the city suddenly changes. Christmas lights, Christmas ornaments, everything so colorful and cheerful. It can make you feel good just walking in the streets. Times have changed and with it the decorations. Remembering my mother’s Christmas tree, everything was done in a more traditional way, using golden color, red, and green. Now, year after year the Christmas decorations are different, but they are still beautiful. It is beautiful to see how people keep Christmas tradition alive year after year. Decorations in this country are part of their culture during different seasons, but is at Christmas time where I enjoy seeing the decorations outside the houses.

Sometimes hand-to-hand with the decoration changes, especially at malls, is my other favorite thing about Christmas, the music. Some or the songs are just too beautiful, the sweet melodies and the uplifting tunes. All of the songs brings me back memories of my childhood. And even some of my favorite albums from my favorite artists, are Christmas Special albums. My favorite Christmas album is by Mariah Carey, I love every song, especially “All I want for Christmas is you,” “Christmas,” “O Holy Night,” “Miss You Must,” “Joy to The World,” and “Jesus Oh What a Wonderful Child.”

My second Christmas album is by Celine Dion, my favorites songs are: “Don’t Save it All for Christmas Day,” “The Magic of Christmas Day,” “Another Year Has Gone By,” and “Feliz Navidad.” I like to hear this music at the gym, especially at the sauna to get relax. I love to sing this music when I am driving; definitely this music makes me so happy.

And how not to mention the food, yes, Christmas food is different. In my country, some traditional dishes are prepared mostly during Christmas times, even if the ingredients are the same of those we eat during the year, they are cook in a different way, for example the roasted pork and many variations of rice and salads, with many types of bread. In addition, all the family comes from abroad or different cities in the country to gather to enjoy the Christmas diner, the drinks, and the sweets. There are many kinds of sweets and fruits only available during Christmas time.

It is really a great season, full of joy and good energy. Christmas time will always be special to me. A time for thinking about all that I did and accomplish during the year and prepare my resolutions for the upcoming year. A time to share it with my friends and my family, and be feel grateful for everything good in my life.

--

--