A Special Place

Theressa L.
KeepIt112
Published in
5 min readNov 9, 2017

I think we all have a special place in our mind. I have a wonderful place that made me happy a lot of times, years ago. This place is meaningful to me because it is part of me, is part of where I grew up and is part of my childhood. This Special place is located in Haiti. This is mostly where my family and I grew up. I came to the U.S when I was about 14 years old. We came not because my life in Haiti wasn’t ideal. We came because of insecurities. If you have ever heard of Haiti we are known for harming people. But, besides that, I loved it over there .Living there with my family, possibly was the best time ever. I will forever cherish those memories.

We lived in the capital of Haiti which is called Port-au-Prince, just in case you were wondering. We lived in a house located in Delmas that’s neighborhood that’s the neighborhood I grew up in .with three bedrooms. My family is constituted of six, and at the time I had two of my cousins living with us. We moved in when I was about three years old, I could tell because I saw a picture that my dad took of me while I was in that apartment. My younger brother was also conceived in that apartment .So you can tell that this house was very important to my family. This is where they raised their family and this is also where I grew up, and saw my younger brother grew up. We had a lot of fun that house. And this the reason why we called it “home” because that’s where we felt safe, and where we came at night and had dinner with our family and those whom we care the most for.

Living in a house with six kids was the best. We laughed together, played together, and we also went to school together. So, to make it short and simple, we were always together. One of the things I liked about where I lived is the fact we had a lot of other kids in that apartment. We would get together to play video games, joked around, eat, and party together. Because almost every month was somebody else’s birthday. So their parents would throw them a party, who doesn’t like parties? I know I do. Those parties were fun. We would do a dance off, Eating competition, play truth or dare etc… Every fun things that you can possibly do at a party.

Everyone had a favorite place in a house for me it was the living room. I liked the living room because it’s where my family and I spent Time together. We would watch shows and movies together .During weekends we would have movie nights and game nights we would invite other family members over and I loved it. My mom had a lot pictures of us on the living room wall witch she called “The family wall” She had pictures of us since we were babies. And every graduation picture. And birthdays. For my mom, I think that was her way to remind herself of some of her accomplishments.

Don’t kid yourself. “The family wall” wasn’t the only thing she cared about, my mom loved her kitchen. What mother didn’t? It’s where she get to cook for us. Christmas was the craziest, but also my favorite time of the year. There was a lot of cooking and a lot yelling, this is when she got really cranky. She would be cooking everyone’s favorites. We would be having family over, most of my cousins would spend the night. Because I didn’t get to see most of them because of school and some of them live far away from us. During holiday’s weekend was when we would see each other and catch up. We had some long nights, we staying late to tell jokes, and also early mornings, we used to wake up early so we could watch those Christmas movies like “home alone “was my favorite. We had a lot of fun during the holidays. The Christmas tree would be lit up while having dinner and Christmas music in the background. I’ll forever remember does moments.

One other place I’ll always remember is the backyard. This is where my cousins and I used to play with our dogs. We had three dogs and six puppies. Yeah I know that’s a lot of dogs. That’s because my dad really liked animals. My sister And I had a dog we named her princess because she was all white she was the cutest. When it comes to the others they were far too many to remember all their names. We didn’t only own dogs. We had a rooster and a cat. My cat will always be fighting my dog for some reason, and my cat will always win the fight. Strange right? I liked playing with my dogs after school. They were always happy to play, but they were happier for food. I remember my dog bit my neighbor’s hand because he was messing with his food. It was my fault, come to think of it, I dared him to do it. Unfortunately we didn’t get to keep all the puppies .My mom couldn’t stand the idea of having all these puppies in the backyard even though she barely steeped a foot out there. So my dad gave them away. My Dad always listened to my Mom, I barely saw these two fight. That doesn’t mean that they didn’t.

Living in that house showed me how important it was to have a place to call “Home” and have people that cared about me, and a place to come. I will forever be grateful of those memories and moments that I had with family in that house. Even though things are a little different here in the U.S, and we are not living in the same house, I’m grateful to have my family around .Family is important. We will create new memories because now we have new “Special place”. Not everyone have this chance. I will forever be grateful. Princess Diana said: “family is the most important thing in the world”

--

--