Buamami Pauline Tamini
KeepIt112
Published in
4 min readOct 22, 2019

--

My Village

I was born in Ouagadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso, located in West Africa. However, I grew up in the village, Bondoukuy, located 300 kilometers from Ouagadougou. Quiet life, hospitable people, and fresh air — all these things come to my mind when I think of my village. Bondoukuy is very important to me, and it is my dream place, where I would like to spend my last days on earth.

Bondoukuy is a small village located in a rural area. It is the perfect place for me. When I was 4 years old, I was living there with my grandparents and some cousins. We were a big family because my grandfather had four wives. When I was seven years old, I joined my parents in Ouagadougou for a better education, but I was still going to the village every August 26. That day was the celebration of the family in the whole village. I really enjoyed living in the village. You can live a peaceful and quiet life. First, you never need to worry about noises such as traffic, industrial, and neighborhood. Trust me, you can enjoy a peaceful night there. Also, you spend less money in village lifestyle, and it is not expensive. Everything is hand made with the available resources. Life is essentially based on agriculture, livestock, and fishing. I remember on Saturday and Sunday; we all went to the field very early in the morning after prayer at 4:30 AM. Nobody stayed at home. In the field, we had a big farm. So, we grew various kinds of vegetables by ourselves for our use. We also had corn, millet, and others. In addition, we had a small kitchen there. After a few good hours of work, we had breakfast in the field together. Later, children would draw water and women would cook. Then, we enjoyed good food together before returning home. I loved to be part of that, and it was amazing. Another memory is that my childhood home is made of “banco “(traditional house) and the roof is made of straw. It is an old house and the interior is very simple with five bedrooms and one bath. I was sharing one with my cousins. The others were for the four wives, and grandfather was sleeping from room to room among his wives’ rooms. Anyway, everything was perfect and there was no dispute. There was always laughter at home.

In addition, people in my village are hospitable, respectful, and so helpful. They are honest, and you will enjoy talking with them. Many are illiterate and don’t have access to written material. However, there is a social organization and a stability. Our culture is part of our life. Young people always treat their parents and grandparents with great respect and follow their valuable advice. Our culture always reminds us of the importance of the family and the neighborhood. For example, my grandfather is living with his four wives, and the standard of living is simple. Everybody respects each other. At nighttime, we all sit and share the meal together and sometimes with neighbors. Some days, we enjoyed festivals in Bondoukuy. We danced, sang, and told jokes. We welcome the neighboring villages and strangers without worries. At these festivals, you can see our indigenous masks and dancing. The party always went well, and everyone was happy. You will never feel alone in Bondoukuy.

My village is a perfect place to live if you are in search of harmony with nature. The air is clear. The environment is peaceful. There is less pollution, a lot of trees, and plants everywhere. We also have a river and you can go fishing. In my opinion, it is the simplicity, natural beauty, and tranquility that make the rural life unique and special. Every activity in my village life requires physical exercise and that is beneficial for human well-being. In spite of everything good that Bondoukuy gives us, there are a lot of important lacks. We don’t have hospitals, police stations, and firefighters. We don’t also have electricity, hotels, restaurants, and other amenities, but people live happy and I still prefer my village life. It can take you out of the stress of the city and put you in a better mood.

All in all, my village, Bondoukuy is very important to me. It also reminds me who I am and where I come from. It is not developed, but I prefer it. Life is so simple. I miss Bondoukuy and I can’t wait to go back there.

--

--